Skip to content

The Peachtree Road Runway

June 29, 2010

In just a few short days we will be celebrating America, and whether you were born here or elsewhere, love it or hate it, celebrate you will. Independence Day is a day to celebrate the freedom to wear clothing past its fashionable prime, the freedom to wear heels that make you fall down, and, in Atlanta, the freedom to run more than six miles in one the the hottest and most humid cities in our fair nation.

Last year was my first time running the Peachtree Road Race, and though I only ran about half the race and it took me around an hour and 38 minutes, I was victorious in my finish with the 54,999 other idiots in Piedmont Park. I will be there again this Sunday, and think I can actually run the whole thing this year.

And I need to look good doing it.

Now that most of the training is behind us, my friend and training partner Rebecca and I are completely preoccupied with what we will wear for this momentous occasion (her first Peachtree, my first with any kind of training or preparation).

Last year I ran in a vintage JR’s Log House t-shirt, repping my dad who is a veteran Peachtree runner but couldn’t participate. (He was supposed to join me this year, but his restaurant does triple its usual amount of business on a holiday weekend, so he has to sling barbecue for suburban runners.) It was a clutch choice because it was personal, had personality and was thin and light-weight from years of washing, but not embarrassingly so.

Yesterday I hit the Urban Outfitters sale (it’s a good one, by the way), and picked up two options for us, neither of which worked out.

The first was this semi-80s tank with bleach spots. But the front cuts in too far on the chest (Urban can’t just make a normal muscle tank, of course), so it’s a no-go. (In trying to find a picture of this tank online, which I can’t, I just discovered the brand is Standard Cloth and is for men…no wonder the front of the tank didn’t fit us quite right!)

The second reject is this t-shirt that is just a little too see-through for our tastes, which is unfortunate because it’s pretty awesome and we would have felt like a million bucks each in this baby.

Working Class Hero

So I’m back on the hunt today for the perfect top to get us through those six miles on Sunday. We will not wear costumes, as so many fools like to do, but we do want to look a little silly and a lot awesome. In my mind I can’t escape the vision of a neon muscle tank, but we’ll see what we come up with. We already have black bottoms and Wilson sweatbands in place. Pictures will follow of our impending success!

While I won’t run in a costume, I do plan to sport something very bright, red, white and blue for the rest of my 4th of July festivities, whatever they may be. What about you — do you have a staple outfit for this or other holidays?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 10:09 am

    I’ve never run Peachtree before, and I wasn’t planning on running this year. I figured, if I was going to run a 10K, I’d want to do one in the fall or early spring. You know, when it’s not 9034903240 degrees outside with 300 percent humidity.

    However. My old roommate’s friend isn’t coming to Atlanta this weekend, so she was selling her number. In a fit of temporary insanity, I snapped it up and will be agonizing over the 6.2 miles Sunday morning with the rest of ATL. I figured I should do something quintessentially ATL for my last weekend in the South.

    Prior to reading this post, I was just planning on wearing a basic Nike water-wicking tank top and some running shorts, but now I feel like I need to find an awesome T-shirt or something. We shall see…

    • Kristen permalink*
      June 29, 2010 11:29 am

      It’s like a 6-mile party — I’ve only run a few races in my day, but this one has by far been the best and most fun.

      • June 29, 2010 11:31 am

        Melanie and I are now brainstorming tank top decoration ideas. Haha. We should try to meet up and get a TT photo!

  2. Katy permalink*
    June 29, 2010 3:27 pm

    I commend all of your for doing the race. I will wake up Sunday, lay on the beach, and drink a mojito in your honor.

    • June 29, 2010 3:31 pm

      Seriously. I claim temporary insanity for buying the number. I’m not quite in good enough shape to run 6.2 miles. Four or 4.5, sure. And you best believe I’ll be enjoying a cocktail that afternoon.

  3. ledawg permalink
    June 30, 2010 2:44 pm

    Oh Kristen, you sneaky sneaky lady… reading my PRR blog and I had no idea! Check out American Apparel – they always have something awesomely bright and neon to sell. Hope I’m lucky enough to run into you Sunday. Good luck on the race… I know you’ll do great. Myself – I plan on doing great with the post-race cocktails!

Trackbacks

  1. Let’s get physical! « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

