Skip to content

Black Friday: My Anti-Retail Therapy

November 30, 2009

Confession: I hate Black Friday.

I know I should love it. Deals galore, right? I do love a good bargain. But I can’t muster up any enthusiasm when I know I can get similar discounts by shopping online.

I don’t think I’m alone on this. The average online order on Black Friday this year jumped 35 percent from 2008’s total — which comes to about $170.19 per order in 2009. (For the record, I definitely spent more than $170 on Black Friday. And I’m pretty much done with my Christmas shopping now.)

I have trouble understanding why any sane person would wake up in the middle of the night to go fight with the crazies (no offense, Jenny).

Bargain-hunting is a year-round hobby for me. It doesn’t just happen once a year. But when I’m shopping (I’m talking for hours at a time), I need to be able to leisurely browse the racks and hunt through the clearance racks — preferably while being left alone.

Shopping is my therapy. It relaxes me. Why would I want to cut a good night’s sleep short if I’m just going to get stressed out? I need to keep shopping sacred and calming. Maybe “sacred” is too strong a word, but going out on Black Friday would not achieve this.

Sure, many stores do offer in-store only deals. Perhaps it’s worth it to some people to wake up at 2 a.m. and stand in line for five hours. And maybe my Black Friday reluctance has to do with the fact that I’d rather buy clothes than electronics, and most of the big savings are for electronics.

If you’re going out for the clothes and prefer to try things on before you buy them, why not hit up the store before Black Friday and do a test run, then sleep off your entire turkey coma? With a few keystrokes, those clothes or shoes can be yours — and most stores offer free (or at least discounted) shipping.

Maybe this makes me a bad bargain-hunter. And sure, the thrill of the crowds probably does it for some shoppers. But since I started working full-time (tip to those still in college: never graduate), I haven’t been sleeping too well and will take any extra hours I can.

It’s undeniable the deals on Black Friday are great, no matter how you choose to celebrate. I prefer to spend one of the busiest shopping days a year relaxing with my laptop and a huge mug of coffee (preferably sometime after 10 a.m.). But that’s just me.

P.S. If you didn’t take advantage of Black Friday, check out Cyber Monday’s deals — happening right now!

(Image via jason-riedy on Flickr.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. omgitsjpax permalink*
    November 30, 2009 11:53 pm

    Haha, touche. But I am one of the crazies!

  2. Mandi permalink
    December 1, 2009 3:46 am

    Haha…man, it’s so weird being in 80-deg heat and hearing about xmas shopping season! I agree. Black Friday is exactly that – the kind of day I scratch out on my calendar with a healthy helping of sharpie and then try to hibernate until the stampedes have passed. It’s worth the extra 10 percent if it means I keep my peace of mind.

    Nice blog btw! The beauty of Chile is there is no fashion here. If you have a black trench, square boots and a tacky scarf to keep the smog out of your nose, then you’re the height of fashion forward. Upside: no money wasted on shopping sprees!

    • Shannon permalink*
      December 1, 2009 2:06 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Mandi! We’re just getting started but hopefully it will be a fun project for us! I hope all is well in Chile – I’ve loved reading about your adventures on your blog.

  3. December 1, 2009 2:30 pm

    I used to be one of those Black Friday crazies. I didn’t even care about finding anything I really needed, I just wanted to be near the excitement. It was almost like a competition — OMG, are we going to get a parking space? Yes! OMG, can I grab this 70% off purse before this lady does? Yes! MLIA.

    And second, I heart this project. I love how we left college and decided to pursue our sartorial loves. I miss you guys! – JoAnn

  4. July 28, 2013 3:40 am

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog
    and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  5. September 7, 2013 7:17 am

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs
    I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always useful to read through articles from other authors and practice something from their sites.

Trackbacks

  1. What a year, Thrifty Threads! « Thrifty Threads
  2. Parting is such sweet sorrow | Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

