Skip to content

Don’t go broke going green

December 3, 2009

As someone who recycles as much as possible, I’m constantly looking for ways to be environmentally responsible.

Especially after reading several different “green” articles in the November issue of Vogue, I have been feeling like I should be doing more to reduce my ecological footprint. But my dilemma arises when it seems everything costs money.

Sure, we can limit electricity usage, turn off the water while brushing teeth, and carry reusable shopping bags, but to do much beyond these requires spending money — and usually a great deal of it. Even buying organic foods rather than store brands can add up.

Since most of us don’t have access to unlimited funds, we can’t necessarily afford to “go green” with lifestyle changes such as driving a hybrid car or buying expensive eco-friendly clothing.

But yesterday, I returned a pair of shoes I was never going to wear in exchange for a $9 (on sale, previously $24.99) pair of zoe&zac flats, a necklace, and I have $4 left over. This line prides itself on carrying “affordable, stylish and eco-friendly shoes and accessories.” Exactly what I need in my life. AND this line can be found conveniently in Payless stores and online.

My new shoes, aside from being cute and comfortable, give me that warm, fuzzy feeling because I’m helping save the environment.

I’m hoping this trend will catch on and more affordable, eco-friendly lines will make their way into stores. Anyone know of other lines out there similar to zoe&zac?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. omgitsjpax permalink*
    December 5, 2009 4:49 pm

    Adorable shoes! I’ll be sure to check out this line next time I go to Payless 🙂

  2. December 8, 2009 12:05 am

    Those flats are so cute, would love to get a pair of plaid flats

Leave a Reply

