Skip to content

Holiday parties everywhere, and not a dress to wear

December 14, 2009

OK, so here was the situation. My friend Kelly invited me to go to her fancy work holiday party (she works at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce) and being that I had never attended a real-world adult holiday party, I was slightly nervous. Living in D.C., there is not a real fashion scene as many people toll away inside government buildings, but I rarely get the chance to dress to impress so I wanted to try something fun, but I also wanted to try and use what I already had as opposed to running out an buying something. After a mini-fashion show for the BF and the roomie, this is what I finally ended upon, and yes, the obligatory taking-a-pic-of-myself-in-the-mirror-emo pose.

I was going fpr a sorta J.Crew on a budget-ish look with this ensemble. The white v-neck t-shirt is from Target, as are the black pencil skirt, silver tights, and black wedges (which I wore to my college graduation 2 1/2 years ago and still wear today). As a side note, wedges were a better choice than the heels I had initially picked out as I traipsed around the D.C. streets for hours and these made it much easier to run from careening cabs.  The purple “boyfriend” cardigan is from Old Navy, as is the green scarf which is used as a festive accent. The necklace is a find from Portobello Road in London from when I studied abroad.

I did the math — my entire outfit cost less than my bag (a Coach purse, gift from the parentals). All of these items I had in my closet. So it just goes to show that while the allure of a holiday party might call for a new dress or outfit, try to dig out some staples to create something new. Your wallet will thank you.

(Now off to finish my final at 2:30 am)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink*
    December 15, 2009 5:58 pm

    I really love the purple cardigan w/ the teal. I wish I had cardigans in more colors. I only have gray and black. Although I do have a zebra print one, so maybe that makes up for the lack of diversity.

Leave a Reply

