Skip to content

“I will literally be the old woman who lives in her shoes!”

December 14, 2009

(Jump to :28.)

Some women love purses. Others, jewelry … be it necklaces, earrings or bracelets.

Me? I love shoes.

I’m a firm believer that the shoes make the outfit. I can be wearing a fairly boring outfit I’ve worn 50 times (for example, skinny jeans, T-shirt, scarf), but if I have a great pair of heels, I am on, baby. ON.

(Clockwise from top left: Sara's red pumps, Melanie's Isaac Mizrahi for Target Mary Janes, Matt's purple pimp shoes, my Stuart Weitzmans)

I know most stylists or people “in the know” fashion-wise say you should splurge on shoes because you’ll walk a lot in them and a good pair of shoes can make all the difference, blah blah blah.

I get that. I do. But seriously, I just cannot justify spending more than $50 on a trendy pair of shoes I won’t wear in a few years. (For the record, those Stuart Weitzmans in that photo were free from one of my internships. It pays to wear size 9 1/2, people.)

For my trendy shoe fix, I hit up the old standbys, Target.com and Forever 21, as well as hunting the sales at ModCloth and Zappos, just to name a few.

(Fun fact: I recommend sticking to online-only for Target [if your shoe size doesn’t change] because the selection is much better online. I swear, some of the buyers at local Target branches must be blind. The shoes online are always cuter than the ones in the stores.)

I generally spend way too much on shoes and not enough on other accessories, such as jewelry. (The exception here is big, inexpensive chandelier earrings, my other weakness.) I have red shoes, purple shoes, blue shoes, brown shoes and of course, black shoes. I have Mary Janes, flats, boots, pumps, stilettos and loafers.

Now that I drive to work and spend the majority of my day sitting down, I’ve finally started working my collection of heels into my daily wardrobe. My Target shoes rarely fail me.

If you’re out browsing and see a pair of “trendy” heels, I say go for it. You may only wear them a few times, but if they’re less than $30 (hello, F21!), you’re really not losing out on too much. Chances are they’ll go with a few different outfits or dresses, and they can completely change the tone of a look.

I leave you with this quote from a classic tome, Shopaholic Takes Manhattan. (Kidding. Although you know you’ve read this book on the beach. Or at least thought about reading it.)

What is it about shoes? I mean, I like most kinds of clothes, but a good pair of shoes can just reduce me to jelly … And once I lined them all up on my bed and took a photograph of them. Which might seem a bit weird — but I thought, I’ve got loads of photos of people I don’t really like, so why not take one of something I really love?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. omgitsjpax permalink*
    December 15, 2009 2:12 pm

    I blame/thank you for my shoes fixation. Before summer ’08 I had no idea how much of an impact they can make. They truly make or break the outfit. 🙂

  2. Katy permalink*
    December 15, 2009 5:51 pm

    Just bought two new pairs of shoes from F21 today…had to keep myself from buying more. One is for a wedding I am in so I NEEDED them. The end.

  3. December 16, 2009 9:41 am

    I agree with that last quote — there is something so satisfying about seeing your own collection of shoes lined up in the closet!

Trackbacks

  1. “Looking good and dressing well is a necessity. Having a purpose in life is not.” « Thrifty Threads
  2. Hi. I’m not here but my shoes are, so leave them a message. « Thrifty Threads
  3. What a year, Thrifty Threads! « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

