Skip to content

The best things in life are heavily discounted

December 18, 2009
by

So, I regret to report that I didn’t have much of a thrilling thrifty threads adventure this week. I guess after weeks of spoiling myself shopping for jackets, boots and random knick-knacks at Goodwill I had to back away from the debit card for a bit and pick up some more hours at work.

Nonetheless, I have to talk real quick about coupons. One of the earliest memories is clipping coupons with my Mom. It’s so engrained in my memory it’s literally the first thing I think of when I think of my childhood. (I think that may be the definition of coming from a hardcore frugal family.) But my Mother does not mess around. Every Sunday when the paper came, her and I would spread it out on the kitchen table, her with her heavy-duty scissors, me with my kiddie ones, and we’d cut out the goodies. Faintly in the background, Clark Howard on 750 AM played from our boombox.

To this day it’s really hard for me to go anywhere without a coupon. If I don’t, I seriously hear my Mother’s voice in my head, “15 percent off, if only you had asked me…” and it just haunts me. And I mean, it really is just a waste! It’s so easy to find discounts; you’re just throwing away money if you pay full price.

You can still do the traditional route of buying the Sunday paper and clipping out what you find, but I’ve also discovered couponmom.com and savings.com. The sites are mainly targeted toward grocery savings, but there’s also stuff for GAP, Kohl’s, Target, etc. if you look around. Most of the time they’re not mindblowing savings, but an extra 15 percent off on like, a sheet set or something is pretty significant.

Oh, and how much do I love these gloves I ordered online from Target? For the texting addict in all of us — how frustrating is it to try to text when you’re wearing gloves? Fingerless with a mitten foldover flap. Get these for yourself or as a last-minute Christmas gift. They were only $8.79 and I’m thinking about getting them in lavender just because.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kristen permalink*
    December 19, 2009 1:58 pm

    i got these guys a few weeks ago and have unofficially dubbed them “iphone gloves,” though i will open it up to “smart phone gloves” since i’ve heard the pearl in a blackberry also makes for difficult navigation with your hands covered. no regrets.

Leave a Reply

