Skip to content

The Snuggie: Your new boyfriend

December 28, 2009

I waste a lot of money on little shirts I wear twice and heels I never make it out of the house in, so it’s nice to find some threads you can … well, essentially live in.

If you’re like me, when you saw this commercial you were all like, “Oh my gosh, people are so lazy. I can’t believe it’s come down to this. Yeah. Yeah.” But the second you were alone you searched online like a madwoman to get your hands on one. A blanket with sleeves!? There is a God! I waited a year to get a Snuggie and I’m glad I did. You can find them for $14.99 at Kohl’s and within a $10 range of that at most department stores. It’s $19.95 on their Web site.

So what’s the verdict? A-. The convenience of sleeves really is all it’s cracked up to be. Like a lot of Americans, I’m working part-time and spend a considerable duration of my day sitting in front of the television, often with a laptop. The Snuggie is perfect for this. My only complaint that detracts from the Snuggie’s perfection is it’s way too long. If you’re walking around with it on hardwood floors, you’re likely to slip and fall. I’m thinking about chopping a foot off the bottom and using the material to sew on pockets … you know, for the remote control, and a cell phone if I’m feeling social. The Snuggie has a way of organizing life’s priorities for you.

Mine is bright pink. With my light pink thermal fuzz socks, I look like a walking bottle of Peptobismol. I would not wear this outside of the house if I ever intend on finding a significant other. The company recommends wearing one at sporting events, and night-time pub crawls. I mean, I guess knock yourself out if you don’t give a shit, or have been married for a while and you’ve both kind of given up on looking tempting. To me, it’s more of a “all my friends are out, but I’m staying in to eat Cheetos and watch old ‘Friends'” kind of thing.

Anyway, The Snuggie was my favorite holiday gift because I think I’ll get the most use out of it this winter.

Also, how much do I love this plaid jumper I got at TJ Maxx for $19? Feel very Rory Gilmore meets 12 year old.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristen permalink
    December 28, 2009 10:38 pm

    I got a UGA snuggie for christmas, AND “snuggie” is in my iPhone autotext. My 8-year-old brother was really jazzed to give me the snuggie. I think society wins on all fronts. I was pleased to find that there was enough snuggie to tuck behind my body while laying on my side.

  2. Shannon permalink*
    December 29, 2009 10:27 am

    We used to have a Snuggie in our office for general use (it would get washed, don’t worry). I totally used it once or twice until our office dog claimed it for his own. Now it’s totally covered in dog hair.

Trackbacks

  1. giving your feet a treat « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

