Skip to content

Melanie’s 9 Party Dresses of 2009

December 31, 2009

If your holidays have been anything like mine, you’ve been baking up a storm and gorging yourself on comfort foods — meanwhile scaling back on exercise (and blaming the cold weather). But no worries, the New Year begins tonight at midnight! And before you begin working on your resolutions, it’s time to dress up and toast in 2010.

New Year’s celebrations are the perfect occasion to break in new party dresses. However, since I’m trying to get my budget back in check after Christmas, and due to limited time, I will be putting together pieces I already own for this year’s outfit.

Since everyone’s doing 2009 wrap-ups, I thought I’d share some of my own favorite party dresses from the past year (OK, some are also from last year, but don’t tell anyone).

This dress I wore for last year’s NYE party at Shannon’s apartment, hosted by the two of us. I found it at Cillies in downtown Athens, for right around $20 if I remember correctly. I love the colors for New Year’s Eve: classy yet festive. I wore it with tights and heels (though, to be honest, I went shoeless most of the evening).

I love the shape of this dress. Plus it’s red and black (Go Dawgs!). I wore it for a party hosted by one of my friends that was a classy-themed, and everyone was expected to dress up. So far I haven’t found another occasion to wear it because it is a little more on the dressy side, but I know I will at some point.

I actually bought this one at a dress shop in Oxford while I was studying abroad. Perfect for the beach, though, I wore it to dinner during Spring Break back in March. It’s not something I would wear on a regular basis, but it was comfortable and fit in well on vacation.

I scooped this BCBG Max Azria dress up at Plato’s Closet, and it still had the original tag intact. I wore it for a banquet in the spring. It’s easy to tell the quality of this dress simply by the feel of the fabric — much nicer than what I normally wear.

This F21 dress actually made its debut during summer 2008 while I was visiting Shannon and Jenny in New York. The occasion was rather humorous: a friend of Jenny’s sister got breast implants, so it was a woman-only party to celebrate cleavage. I also wore it in Fall ’08 for a wine and cheese party at Shannon’s apartment.

This dress actually belongs to Shannon (She recently was planning on getting rid of it because it’s too short on her, so I said I would take it. We’re now planning a clothing swap for the near future.) Besides wearing it to our friend’s first “Classy Party,” I wore it out for wine and cheese with the girls during my New York trip (Summer ’08). Love the silver color and it’s about the perfect length (as I am several inches shorter than Shannon).

This dress is just adorable (from F21). I love the rope-like detailing, and it has pockets! I wore it for my birthday and throughout the summer with sandals. However, it could easily be converted for cooler weather with tights, boots and a cardigan.

I found this dress for about $8 at Plato’s Closet — originally from Target. (And you just thought Target was cheap!) I haven’t worn much yellow in the past because it has a tendency to match my skin tone too closely and end up making my skin look green. Anyway, I tried it on, and being tan at the time, I think I pulled it off alright. I’ve been meaning to try it with my cognac-colored boots and brown tights during the colder months, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

I’ve only worn this F21 dress once since I bought it during the summer. The occasion was dinner with my boyfriend in Charleston, where we took a trip to celebrate our birthdays. I think the dress was only about $20, and I am in love with the print. It reminds me of watercolors I used to paint with as a kid.

Although the dress is important, what matters more are the memories you make while wearing it. So have a fun, safe and happy start to 2010!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink*
    December 31, 2009 11:56 am

    This posts makes me miss 2008 (NYC/wine and cheese/classy parties, etc…). We need to do more fun things like that during 2010. And that silver dress is yours tonight and every other night if you want it. I brought it to Athens. 🙂

  2. January 1, 2010 10:52 pm

    Fun picks! I love the black/red dress and that last F21 dress.

Leave a Reply

