Skip to content

When I get home…

January 4, 2010

Since I’m moving to the Buckhead area of Atlanta on Saturday, I’m actively searching for home decor ideas. (I’ve been doing this for months, but now that I have an actual moving date, it’s much more exciting.) You’d better believe I’m going to be using Kristen’s thrifty advice about buying sheets — I actually bought a queen-sized mattress today and I’m psyched to make it look pretty.

First, some inspiration:

All images via sweethomestyle.tumblr.com

I plan on hitting up Target, Wal-Mart, TJMaxx and Bed Bath & Beyond, as well as thrifting and looking around eBay and Etsy for some cool ideas. Here are some of my top picks right now, though. (Keep in mind I found most of these things tonight. I’m a blogging procrastinator.)

(Yes, I painted that Venice scene. I love you, Sips ‘n’ Strokes, despite your somewhat-dirty name.) I think I’ll be using those colors as inspiration for my bedroom. I’m a huge fan of the deep purples, blues and reds. But I do want gray and black accents as well. Right now I’m planning on painting one or two bedrooms walls — probably either dark purple or crimson.

Words cannot express how much I adore that print from Etsy on the top right. My bedroom has a built-in desk (it’s basically a little nook with a sunken wall) so I’m planning on nabbing it if it ever goes back on sale. (It’s currently sold out.) Of course I love those wine glass plates from Target, too.

Jenny made that earring frame holder last summer (I had to search her Tumblr archives to find that photo, I’m basically a stalker) and Melanie made one, as well. I’ll finally commit to making one when I have a more permanent home. And I think we can all agree that the shoes The Container Store used as samples on that shoe rack are hideous. Regardless, I need something to display my shoes and that seems to fit the bill.

Any Atlanta stores I should be aware of that are both stylish in the home decor area as well as thrifty? Let me know!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 10:48 pm

    Don’t forget Ikea – I love how their products are so easy to hack. ikeahacker.blogspot.com is one of my favorite websites.

    I’m also a huge fan of Crate + Barrel, CB2 (their cheaper line), as well as Z Gallerie. Have you checked apartmenttherapy.com ? They have good ideas for apartment decorating, which comes in especially handy for renters.

    • Shannon permalink*
      January 5, 2010 9:05 am

      Ahhh now I feel so dumb for forgetting about Ikea. But I hate their Web site, so maybe it’s for the best. I’m sure I’ll head over there this weekend or next. I need to take a look through IkeaHacker to get some ideas.

      Thanks for the apartmenttherapy.com rec! I’ll definitely check that site out, as well!

  2. Kristen permalink*
    January 5, 2010 9:34 am

    I was going to suggest Ikea as well. Ikea furniture is like those red pepper flakes you sprinkle on pizza, in that it should be used sparingly but is wonderful when used well. My favorite Ikea piece is the expedit shelving unit (here’s the one I have), which I only almost broke while building, comes in various colors and sizes, has a million uses and is affordable.

    Also, Melanie’s fave, Cost Plus World Market, any of the HomeGoods/Marshall’s/TJMaxx family, Tuesday Morning for kitchenware (and Richard’s Variety Store for this and anything else you could ever need), and the Kudzu Market in Decatur that I mention in my bio – one of my favorite places of all time.

    • Shannon permalink*
      January 5, 2010 9:35 am

      YES, I definitely plan on hitting up the Kudzu Market. I’m so overwhelmed with home decor options – it’s an area of shopping I’ve never really explored before. Ahhh!!!

  3. January 7, 2010 11:59 pm

    Ok, I have nothing new to add about decor shopping in Atlanta, because the girls above pretty much hit up every store that I would refer you to.
    But I do want to say CONGRATS and that I am so happy you’re moving and doing your own thing in Buckhead. So exciting!
    Also, a decor blog I love that you might like: http://littlegreennotebook.blogspot.com/.
    Good luck! 🙂

    P.S. Have you been wearing your Target Kady boots in this weather? I’ve been wearing them all the time — greatest shoes from there ever.

    • January 8, 2010 12:02 am

      Thanks for the blog rec! It’s been on my Google Reader for awhile. I also bought the Domino Book of Decorating and a few home decor mags today. I have a shopping problem. Ha. And I’ve been wearing both the brown and the black Kady boots all week, in addition to those red ones from Modcloth I talked awkwardly about in the video. I love them sooooo much, even though everyone in the world seems to have them.

Trackbacks

  1. Today’s resolutions: 1.5.10 «
  2. Take it on home: DIY Projects « Thrifty Threads
  3. What a year, Thrifty Threads! « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

