Skip to content

A little of this, a little of that

January 7, 2010

Aaaah! This post is going to be all over the place — however, it currently matches my living situation, which is — literally and metaphorically, all over the place! I’ve just moved into my new apartment in New York, and things have been kind of hectic (in a good way). But I have a couple tidbits that have been building up that I just have to get out! I need to stop using exclamation points. OK … calm.

ONE: My winter coat I blogged about a while ago might be the best thing I’ve ever purchased. It was 20 degrees and windy last night when my sister sent me out to get red wine in the cold. And while my feet and face get chilly, my entire body doesn’t feel a thing. It’s like a impenetrable down comforter wrapped around you. The only downfall is on the subway I’m sweating obscenely and dying to get it off of me. Oh well.

TWO: Do not ever, ever buy hangers for your threads. (Unless you are a homeowner with money who wants nice, wooden hangers, but I don’t think anyone reading this is.) I didn’t have room to pack any, and wanted to get rid of those heaps of clothes in my room ASAP, so went out in search of them today. Rite-Aid charges ~$6 for 10. Same with Duane Reade. (Not even the nice ones, either!) Bed, Bath & Beyond sells them in bulk for ~$40ish. I just couldn’t bring myself to buy them. So I went to a tailor shop by my apartment, told a white lie about how I just moved in and am looking for a tailor, and asked if they happened to have any extra hangers. They gave me enough for my entire closet for free with a smile. WHY WOULD ANYONE BUY HANGERS. Same with those organizational boxes for like $10 at BB&B. If no one’s going to see them (i.e. under your bed), why not just use shoeboxes? Went into a Payless and grabbed three from their dumpster. That saves about $30 on “organizational totes.”

THREE: I made a video for my Top Nine Deals of ’09 about a week ago and it took me about a week to realize how to upload it and try to fix it — the latter of which never happened. For some reason the first minute or so got cut off, and my editing changes never saved. Oh well. You guys don’t really care, right? My first deal was a pair of BCBG snakeskin heels I got for $18 at a thrift store. Anyway, here’s what remained of it (awesome freeze frame, I know):

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristen permalink*
    January 7, 2010 10:57 pm

    you can get free hangers at retail stores, too! a friend of mine once asked the Old Navy cashier for some hangers and they gave her a whole bag.

  2. January 21, 2010 5:00 pm

    I don’t know why I haven’t watched your video until today (I think I originally read this post on my phone), but my favorite part BY FAR is “if you know my relationship history…” HAHAHA. I love you.

Leave a Reply

