Skip to content

Take a whiff of this

January 10, 2010
tags:
by

I have always been a big smells person. Fresh-cut grass. The air outside after it rains. Laundry. I very much equate memories to scents. Lately, I’ve been big in to fragrances, and I’m still not entirely sure why. I always get perfume samples when I order from Sephora.com (which is quite often because I am a sucker for a sale) and love finding new scents.

Some people don’t really like perfumes. They thing they are too matronly or strong. I was big in to body sprays (Bath and Body Works style) in high school, but as I moved to college, I realized that they don’t have great staying power and maybe I should begin to smell (if not act) like an adult.

For Christmas my junior year, I got a bottle of Lovely by Sarah Jessica Parker. I was going through a big SATC phase so I just had to have it. Coincidentally, my roomie at the time also got it so I’m sure our apartment reeked. In retrospective, I feel this scent might have been a bit too mature for me at the time, but I still wear it and really love it.

So I got to thinking. I have had that bottle for about four years now and still have a good deal left. True, fragrances are expensive upon first purchase, but for the amount of use you get out of one bottle, it’s really a steal. Then it hit me — I might not be able to afford designer clothes, but I can buy designer fragrances. Convoluted, yes, but I think it’s a great idea if you are trying to save money, but still want that designer flair.

I then went kinda mad with the perfumes.

I bought j’Adore by Christian Dior (which I call my work scent). Sephora’s site describes it as “Radiant, sensual, sophisticated, J’adore is a fragrance that celebrates the renaissance of extreme femininity and the power of spontaneous emotion with a brilliant bouquet of orchids, the velvet touch of Damascus plum, and the mellowness of amaranth wood.” That is me to a T. Not. But I do really love how it smells.

Then through the joys of my job (by default I am the fashion and beauty editor for my paper), I got Stella Nude in the mail to review. This scent is absolute love for me. It’s light and feminine and sorta smells sexy, if that makes any sense. I tend to wear this on the weekends, for dates and whatnot. It’s mainly hints of rose with some undernotes of peony and vanilla. Stella McCartney’s original fragrance is also fab.Last, but certainly not least, my boyfriend gave me Very Hollywood by Michael Kors for Christmas. I have worn it every day since then. I think it smells so fresh and girly and it really has been perking me up through this cold and snowy winter madness in D.C. And I love the pink bottle.

I am definitely not a one-scent woman. My boyfriend always asks me what I’m wearing because it changes every day depending on my mood. Just as with clothes and accessories, fragrances are a great way to express personality. I don’t feel completely ready for the day unless I have spritzed something on. That being said, it is also important not to overdo it. You don’t want to walk in to a room and have everyone start choking on too much perfume. I spray one spritz on my wrist, then rub my wrists together, pat some right behind my ears and finish with a a bit on my neck. I’ve found this is the best way to make sure the scent lingers throughout the day.

Give some designer scents a smell if you are in the market for a signature scent, or if you just want to try something new. Sephora has a great way to try out a wide variety of scents with their fragrance samplers. You get decent sized samples of a variety of perfumes (or colognes if you’re a dude) and then you get a voucher for a full-sized amount of whichever one of the scents you like best. Pretty sweet deal if you ask me. Also, TJ Maxx and Marshall’s often have box sets of perfumes for much cheaper than department stores so hit those up as well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 9:00 am

    Perfume is one thing (along w/ make-up) that I don’t experiment much with. I really need to buy one or two nice bottles to have around, as I’m almost out of my bottle of Ralph Lauren Pure Turquoise (which I think is now discontinued). You’re totally right that designer perfume is a good deal for how long it lasts, but some scents can fade over time if I’m remembering correctly. Still, such a good deal.

Trackbacks

  1. Quick tip: Designer lotions … the thrify way « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

