Skip to content

Take it on home: DIY Projects

January 11, 2010

So I moved into my apartment on Saturday, and I’m totally psyched to decorate. (In case last Monday’s post didn’t clue you into that.) I tried to spend some time last week browsing blogs for some fairly easy DIY projects that aren’t too kitschy (not my style) or difficult. (I can’t sew.)

While I’m in the process of accumulating furniture — my parents are giving me their sofa and armchair in a few weeks, and I’m saving up for my ideal bed — I’ll hopefully be able to squeeze a few of these projects into my schedule.

Wine cork cork board

Source

I’m one-half of The Artists Formerly Known as Team Wino. I’ve been collecting wine corks for ages. And when I saw a cork board made of actual corks at Shiraz in Athens, I knew I had to make one of my own. It’s pretty easy, and a Google search reveals a ton of different instructions. The most difficult thing about this one is accumulating enough corks. I think I’ve got it covered. (And to go with it? These wine pushpins.)

Newspaper Starburst Mirror

Source

I discovered this idea from a college friend on Facebook who attached the rolled up newspapers to a mirror. I’ve always wanted a starburst mirror (see my post on home decor from last week), and I think it would be so unique to use my Red & Black archives to make one. Her original idea came from this blog post, and she adapted it for a mirror. Love this, and can’t wait to start rolling up my R&Bs.

I also plan on painting a lot — my roommate and I want to paint the kitchen a bright green (not lime) because it’s so. white. right now. Ick. We’ll also probably paint the living area navy, or at least one wall. And I want to make an earring holder, which I also wrote about last week.

Also, I gave in and bought a print to go above my desk. I scored the last print of I Love You, Blogs and Coffee on Etsy this morning. I. am. so. excited.

And since I know you’re super interested, check out the rest of the post for some closet pics. (No Before pics, it was pretty terrible.) I had the opportunity to organize my closet and bathroom while waiting for the Comcast guy today. And yes, this post is kind of a cop-out. My excuse is that I didn’t have Internet for two days and was busy at work because I had to leave at 1:45 for to wait for the aforementioned Comcast guy.

Needless to say, I really shouldn’t shop for awhile. I need to actually wear the clothes I own, and I want to experiment with different patterns and colors from what I already have. (I’m sure if I find something particularly thrifty, though, I won’t pass on it.)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    January 11, 2010 10:44 pm

    I heart that newspaper mirror idea. I might just have to borrow it. I bet it would look pretty bomb with magazines too. I found two great jewelry racks on Etsy last week. A really cute earring holder I recommend if you give up on the whole making one thing.

    • January 11, 2010 10:59 pm

      Yeah, I actually ended up buying a starburst mirror at Target yesterday because it was slightly damaged so I got an amazing deal. I’ll still probably end up making another one out of R&Bs because I love the concept.

  2. Christina permalink
    January 11, 2010 10:49 pm

    My roomie just came back to school with two wine corkboards just like that! They are super cute and easy to make!

  3. January 12, 2010 12:14 am

    Thanks for linking to my site. I, too, am in love with starburst mirrors… I have made a few crafts along the starburst mirror theme. True confession, one of the only “dollar store” crafts I actually have displayed in my house!

  4. ComcastMark permalink
    January 12, 2010 11:19 am

    I am glad you had something done while waiting for our technician. 🙂 I hope everything is okay now with your Comcast service. Let us know if you need further assistance.

    I have also been collecting wine corks and I am planning to make a cork board out of them. Thanks for sharing this post.

    Regards,

    Mark Casem
    Comcast Customer Connect
    National Customer Operations
    We_Can_Help@cable.comcast.com

  5. January 15, 2010 6:53 pm

    Loving the wine corkboard but I’m loving even more that you used those shelves for shoes! I did that with my shelves like that when I moved in here and Paul thought I was dumb for wasting that kind of shelving. I’ve changed it since then but it was lovely while it lasted 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. I’ve been a very bad blogger. « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

