Skip to content

Not your grandmother’s PennySaver

January 14, 2010

Many people I know swear by coupon clipping from the Sunday paper for grocery shopping and other necessities. If you’re price conscious about these items, why not make a little effort to find discounts on fun, fashionable items?

The Web is an endless resource for this.

There are plenty of coupon-related sites out there, and if you Google something as simple as “coupon,” you will see tons of results. Coupon Saver and Coupons.com are just a couple examples. Some stores may even a section of their Web site devoted to coupons for you, such as Target.com/Coupons. (I only know about this one thanks to Target’s tweet on Wednesday.)

At some store checkouts, cashiers will ask if you want to sign up for their mailing list to receive discount offers through e-mail. Sure, that sounds great, but more junk mail to root through? No thanks.

But there is a solution.

Personally, I have four e-mail addresses that are not work-related – including one I use exactly for this purpose.

That way I can get these offers, but I don’t feel overwhelmed. I can check out what there is at my own leisure, when I’m in a shopping mood.

I especially recommend taking advantage of these sorts of offers from stores you frequent and plan to continue visiting. I receive e-mail offers and coupons from many stores, including Amazon, Borders, Payless, DSW and Coach Factory Stores.

Another way to find out when your favorite store is having sells: follow the store on Twitter and/or Facebook.

At this point, nearly every major chain has its own social media marketing efforts meant to reach consumers and benefit you. One I follow, targetdailydeal, simply posts one deal each day. I may or may not be interested, but there is only one tweet per day, so it doesn’t get obnoxious.

Aside from stores, there are many twitter accounts and blogs dedicated to collecting and sharing good deals for a geographic area.

Atlanta on the Cheap is one for the Atlanta area, and it has a corresponding twitter account. The AJC also has an Atlanta Bargain Hunter blog and twitter. These can be useful, though most of the deals are related to things to do and places to eat. (So you have somewhere to wear your thrifty treasures!)

Scoutmob recently launched daily coupons for Atlanta. (Thanks for the tip, Shannon!) It sends one e-mail with one deal each day. I am so glad we are beginning to learn that the consumer doesn’t want to be bombarded, but to have information easily accessible and dictate the process.

What are some sites you use or other ways you find deals?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 12:03 pm

    Clipping coupons is so annoying! I know ScoutMob just launched yesterday, but I’m obsessed – it helps that I already had brunch plans at yesterday’s daily special. Ha! I didn’t know about some of these, though, and I really should create a special e-mail address for specials and deals from stores. Ugh.

  2. Kristen permalink*
    January 14, 2010 5:57 pm

    Slickdeals and Fat Wallet are good. I’ve heard good things about Bing cashback, too, but have yet to use it myself. And Coupon Mom has most of the same grocery coupons as the newspaper. Also, Groupon, pretty much the same as Scoutmob.

Leave a Reply

