Skip to content

Money can’t buy style, or, Why the Golden Globes sucked

January 18, 2010

I know Golden Globes style has been discussed on tons of blogs, most of them better well known than our little corner of the Web.

However, with that being said, I think it bears repeating that money cannot buy style.

In the interest of full disclosure, I didn’t watch the Globes (or the preshows) last night because I was busy being obsessed with the Netflix “Watch Instantly” feature. (How did I not realize this existed before? God help me, I’m never going to read a book again.)

Anyway, I read my beloved Fug Girls’ recaps today, and I also checked out The New York Times’ slideshow. And I’ve gotta say, I found the fashion pretty unimpressive.

These women have access to some of the best stylists and designers in the world, and most of them looked pretty blah. (I know it was raining, but I’m talking about the way the dresses fit, accessories, etc…)

So let’s give out our own awards, shall we?

Image Credit (Top to bottom, left to right: Frazer Harrison/Getty Images, J. Emilio Flores for The New York Times, Jason Merritt/Getty Images, J. Emilio Flores for The New York Times, Frazer Harrison/Getty Images, Jason Merritt/Getty Images, Mario Anzuoni/Reuters, Frazer Harrison/Getty Images, Jason Merritt/Getty Images (3), J. Emilio Flores for The New York Times, Mario Anzuoni/Reuters, Jason Merritt/Getty Images, Chris Pizzello/Associated Press

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 11:25 pm

    Great picks. I thought Sandra Bullock’s dress looked like cellophane when she went up to receive her award. And Mariah, you do not have to show off your chest all the time.
    I did really like Toni Collette’s sparkly champagne gown — as Jezebel said, she was committed to sparkle motion.

    And yes, I would love to meet up sometime soon! Keep me updated on your schedule — maybe we could do brunch one weekend and some shopping in Buckhead? 🙂

    • January 19, 2010 9:55 am

      Yeah, Toni Collette looked great, as did Heidi Klum. I also liked Kate Hudson’s dress, but she looked so annoyed at the rain that I didn’t want to include her.

      Brunch sounds fantastic – I have a 50 percent off coupon for Murphy’s in Virginia Highland. I went last Saturday and it was delish. I should just wait for you to get on gchat later and discuss this there. Ha.

Leave a Reply

