Skip to content

Just add color

January 21, 2010
by

This week in Atlanta, we’ve gotten a lovely preview of spring weather. After all the ice a couple weeks ago, it’s really just what we needed to liven things up.

But since we all know winter will be back soon – and likely in full force (for Georgia, anyway) – sometimes, we have to find a way to add a little spark in our day-to-day lives, less the winter blues take over.

It isn’t practical to go out and buy a new outfit every time we feel a little down. Instead, I’ve found a little splash of color can do the trick.

My remedy? Nail polish.

Manicures and pedicures are nice and relaxing if you have the funds. But since the whole point of this blog is to be thrifty, your cheapest option obviously is to do your own nails.

But what if I’m not good at painting my own nails? you ask.

Through the years, I’ve found it nearly impossible to stay keep polish off of the skin surrounding my nails. However, if you’re able apply the polish evenly across the nail, you’re good to go. Once the polish has dried completely, simply soak your hands/feet and the polish should peel right off the skin. (In fact, a nail technician once complimented my work on my toes.)

And voila, you’ve saved $20-40. A basic bottle of nail polish only costs about $2-6 at your local discount store. And if it’s a color you enjoy, it will last a while.

Last week, I wanted a new color to work with, so I picked up this Pure Ice in Taupe Drawer color, for $2 at Walmart. My favorite thing about this color is that it has a hint of purple, but it’s still taupe, which is subtle enough to be work-appropriate. (i.e. I don’t feel like a 12-year-old wearing polish on my fingers.)

It’s nice to change it up and have my fingernails painted. My toenails are always painted, and I tend to stick with certain colors each season. Winter: black/dark purple, Spring and Summer: Black or bright pink, Fall: Georgia red, and usually transition to deep burgundy.

But who says I can’t wear bright pink in the winter? Any how about adding some yellow or lime color during the summer? Nail color is a cheap way to hop out of a fashion rut.

How do you like your nails? Do you like to make a loud statement, subtle color or none at all?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 10:46 am

    That nail technician not only complimented you, she jokingly tried to offer you a job!!
    I really need to get better at doing my own nails – that pesky right hand is so difficult to do! My mom gave me a full set of pedicure tools for Christmas in 2008 and I rarely use them. I should dedicate a night next week to that. I kind of want to try painting my fingers navy. Could be cool.

  2. Katy permalink*
    January 21, 2010 7:15 pm

    I gravitate to bright colors. I went to be a mani/pedi with my roomie and she got plain baby pink on both and I got like bright blue on my fingers and this green on my toes. My polish collection is out of hand. I have 3 taupe shades actually…they are all just slightly different…so it’s ok, right?

    • Melanie permalink*
      January 21, 2010 8:14 pm

      I actually have WAY too many different colors of nail polish — many are left over from the late ’90s though. I usually tend to only use 5 different colors. I’m trying to branch out more.

Leave a Reply

