Skip to content

Clothing Analytics: week one

February 2, 2010

This subject won’t be all I write about from now on, but I feel I should give an initial update, one week into this venture of undetermined length.

So far, I’ve learned a few things.

One, I’ve gotten lazy in my work wardrobe during the past few weeks. My Gap trousers are getting more wear than necessary (especially since none of them really fit anymore since I lost some weight). My laziness is a result of waking up with just enough time to inhale cereal and coffee, bathe, get clothes on and get out the door. An extra 5-10 minutes would allow me to put a little more thought into what’s going on my body, and not just grab the first thing I lay eyes on that’s mildly weather-appropriate, or the pair of pants I wore two days ago that’s still draped over my desk chair.

Two, I may remove shoes as a category. Most of my shoes aren’t ones I’d wear to work. I’m leaving it for now, but we’ll see.

I was beginning to think that I don’t actually have as much clothing from Target as I used to think, until today, when I decided to put more thought into my outfit than I have the past couple weeks. Suddenly, 83% of today’s outfit was from Target.

I’ve yet to begin the cataloguing process, but am going to start tackling that this week. I’ll share more insight as it becomes interesting.

Anyone out there joining me or making calculations about their wardrobe? Let me know in the comments!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 2:00 pm

    Kristen, this is such a cool undertaking. I have the same problem of just grabbing whatever is most convenient and weather/work appropriate. I’m currently wearing the pants from two days ago that were draped over my desk chair. Oops. I’m trying to really focus on what I’m wearing 3/5 days right now. That way I leave myself two “bum” days.

  2. omgitsjpax permalink*
    February 7, 2010 1:09 pm

    The next time I have way too much coffee and go into organizational cleaning mode, I am going to to do this and analyze my closet. I’m really curious how much of my wardrobe is actually from H&M. Think of the pie chart possibilities!

Leave a Reply

