Skip to content

The thrill of the shop

February 8, 2010

We’ve all felt it — the thrill of taking your new purchase home and trying it on with your shoes, this bag, that belt. It’s a rush like no other, as Jenny so eloquently described in her last post. It is, quite frankly, pretty freakin’ addictive.

The problem with that addictive rush, though, is that it costs money. And sometimes, a new pair of $5 earrings doesn’t cut it. You want a new dress to wear to your friend’s wedding or a new shirt for a first date and all of a sudden, those purchases are adding up.

The solution is obvious. Find a friend whose style you admire and start swapping. Browse through your roommate’s closet or have a little clothing swap party with your girlfriends. Your “new” clothes or accessories will almost certainly get you through those cold, red credit card balances.

Case in point? I have a tendency to buy a lot of black clothing. (I blame the New Yorker in me.) But when it’s 30 degrees outside and I’m hating winter with a fiery passion, I want a little something bright to pair with my black dress, black tights and (probably black) heels. My roommate owns cardigans in every color of the rainbow, as opposed to my gray and black ones. I can assure you that I will be rummaging through her closet* to find a hue that fits my mood sometime this week — I am so over this cold, black winter.

This is, without a doubt, the best way to get your “shopping” fix without spending a dime. In fact, Melanie and I recently swapped a few items amongst ourselves, although I think I still owe her a dress.

What’s the best find you’ve ever scored from a friend?

*Always, always, always have permission before “borrowing” clothes from your roommate or you’ll find yourself in a sticky situation. And for goodness sake, wash the item before throwing it back in her closet. This should go without saying, but I felt the need for a disclaimer.

One final note: Thrifty Threads officially has its own Twitter page now. Follow us at @thrifty_threads — we’ll be posting links to sales, blog updates and more. Thanks for reading!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink*
    February 12, 2010 2:54 pm

    There is a chapter in my “How to be a Budget Fashionista” on how to throw a clothing swap party. This must happen! Wine, cheese, and new clothes!

    I also love swapping with roommates or friends because it lets you try out new styles that you normally wouldn’t. Ginny tends to wear flowy, colorful, earthy pieces that I for some reason don’t have much of in my closet. Or Melissa buys these outrageous tops I’d never have the guts to buy. You can pretend you’re a new person for a night!

    • February 13, 2010 1:03 am

      If I had more suitcase space (and clothes I want to get rid of), I would bring clothes for you next weekend. But I’m happy to take any of your discards off your hands!

Leave a Reply

