Skip to content

Unexpected Finds: Garden Ridge

February 11, 2010

Over the last 10 years, it seems that everyone is trying to offer more to the consumer. Walmart stores without full grocery sections are now few and far between, and Target is becoming that way. Marshall’s ,T.J. Maxx and Ross all of home goods sections as well as clothing and accessories. And apparently home décor stores now may carry clothing, handbags and books. Garden Ridge does anyway.

My mom was shopping there over the weekend and told me the store now has a wall of handbags and even some clothing, so I had to go check it out.

Handbags
A wall of handbags is exactly what I found. None were brands I recognized, but they were cute – in solids and some patterns. All the purses I saw were priced at $19.99. There were definitely a couple purses I was interested in; I just couldn’t justify spending the money.

Clothing.
Laid out on tables by price – flea market style – you wouldn’t want to build your entire wardrobe here. But there were several pieces that showed promise. Although many bordered on muumuu-like, they could have belting and layering potential.

With dresses marked at either $5.99 or $9.99, I figured it was worth a try. I decided on a $5.99 sundress because I like the print and it has a little bit of shape to it. I wasn’t sure about it at first, but after getting it home and trying it on, I really like it! Success! It clearly works perfectly as a sundress, but I also plan on wearing it as a skirt. For this one, I’ll make an exception to my seven-day rule because I would wear it this week if weather permitted.

Mocha kitty wanted to be included. Picked up the silver sandals yesterday at Target. Earrings: Target. Necklace: Christmas gift from boyfriend.

If you’re looking for a simple sundress, swimsuit coverup, layering pieces or bohemian skirt, there are some great deals here. Most items seemed to be made in India. None of the clothing felt like high quality material, but sometimes you get what you pay for.

What are your thoughts on stores becoming more all-inclusive with their products? Do you like the convenience of being able to find more variety in one place? Or does it take away from specialization and make the world feel Walmart-like?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink*
    February 12, 2010 2:46 pm

    So cute! Purple/black is hands down my favorite combo.

    I think it’s a great way to get people to spend more money as a last-minute splurge — I was at a Shoe Factory in Alpharetta a while back and ended up buying a dress with my shoes. I went in not even knowing they had clothes! It is convenient — but I think people will always stick to whoever does it best when it comes to buying in bulk. For example, at H&M or F21 whatever I always glance at the shoes, but when it comes down to it I’ll end up going to Rack Room or whatever because I trust the brands more.

  2. Jenny permalink*
    February 12, 2010 2:47 pm

    Wow I think I’m going to throw in “whatever” one more time just for kicks: WHATEVER! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Toes in the Sand « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

