Skip to content

Valentine’s Day from the depths of the closet

February 11, 2010
by

Oh Valentine’s Day. That day where single people cringe and people in relationships swoon (well, some of them at least). I have been single most Valentine’s Days in my almost 25 year life, but this year, I have a boyfriend — VDay is a mandatory occurrence in seems. Of course I told Eric (the aforementioned significant other) that I’d be content with a nice dinner (chocolates naturally) and then a movie or quiet evening at home. But that wasn’t enough for Eric. On tap for my Saturday night is a trip to the National Symphony Orchestra.

Yikes. A real adult event. Yes, I’m aware that I have actually been an adult for awhile, but something about the words “symphony” and “orchestra” seem so grown up. Now don’t get me wrong — I’m very excited. I actually love classical music and am pretty pumped about the festivities (they are performing songs from Oscar winning scores. Win.). Anywho, I found out about this a month ago and I’m actually on a strict buy-only-what-I-need plan (going…OK so far) so I was trying to avoid not having to purchase a new dress. It was time to dive in to the trusty closet to see what I could produce for this evening.

I have been to the symphony a few times before, once even as recently as high school. My mom and I went to the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and I think I wore black pin stripe pants, a black turtleneck sweater, and these clunky shoes I cringe at just thinking about them. So I decided to go the classy, dress route this time. So here are my final three options. I was going to do the whole take pictures of myself thing…but I’ve been snowed in three of the past seven days so I feel I’m not looking so hot. But here they are.

The first is this lavender-ish dress from H&M that I have had for at least two years and have not worn. No joke. One of the many reasons for my no-buy on clothes. This is quite flattering on me and I like the color with my pale, winter skin.

Next is one of my favorite dresses that I hardly ever get the chance to wear. I bought this at TJ Maxx and wore it to a friend’s wedding a little more than a year ago. I really like the waste band since it sucks me in and I am majorly drawn to purple these days.

Last is probably the front runner. I bought it during the same shopping trip as the above TJ Maxx find. I like the sleeves for winter and it hits me in the right places. The one reason it isn’t a sure thing is because I do not know how I feel about wearing red on Valentine’s Day. Is it a bit to cliche? Who knows?

So here is my call. I know that you have no idea what they look like on me, but I’d like your input as to which you think I should wear. If it helps at all, I will be wearing tights (it’s the Arctic in D.C. these days) and black heels with a black clutch. Jewelry will be dependent on the dress. Which do you think I should wear?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 6:35 pm

    I vote 2 or 3. I definitely think it’s a little cliche to wear red on Valentine’s Day, so 2 is the forerunner for me. I wear a lot of purple, so I love that. And I’ve seen photos of you in that one as well. If you have a black wrap you could wear with it, I think that would work perfectly.

  2. Sarah permalink
    February 11, 2010 7:35 pm

    I actually think number 1 looks perfect for the orchestra. It looks a bit more formal and I think it would look great with some black tights. I also really like number 2, but it does seem a bit more “summer-y” to me.

    Hope you have fun!

  3. February 12, 2010 7:46 am

    I vote 1 or 3, but I think I’m leaning toward 1. I remember seeing you in 2, and although it definitely would work, I agree with Sarah — it does look a little more summery. I think 1 would be very pretty and elegant with a back wrap, tights and heels. I do think you can’t go wrong here though. Hope you have lots of fun!

  4. Jenny permalink*
    February 12, 2010 2:38 pm

    3 is a safe choice — but I loooove love love the first one. It doesn’t fall into the cliche red-on-V-Day trend but is still festive. 2 is cute but I don’t think it’s formal enough. I vote 1!

Leave a Reply

