Skip to content

Freshen up what you’ve got for spring

February 18, 2010

With everyone getting in the mood for spring fashion, I’ve found my own taste in colors brightening up. Rather than the blacks, browns and deep reds of winter, I’m craving more jewel tones.

I don’t know about you, but season transitions are always difficult for me. I always feel like I need a new wardrobe for the new season. But because I’m attempting to save money, I’m trying to work with items I already have while adding a few (thrifty) statement pieces here and there.

Lately I’ve found myself strangely attracted to the color yellow. This may not seem strange because yellow has been a trendy color for awhile, but until very recently it was completely and intentionally left out of my wardrobe.

But my new yellow cardigan from Target has quickly become one of my favorites because it can brighten up an otherwise drab outfit.

I’ve found a lively pair of shoes or colorful purse can have the same effect. So far I’ve incorporated the aforementioned cardigan, a pair of open-toed teal flats, a pair of silver flat sandals (pictured here) and a teal purse — all from Target. What are some other thrifty ways to freshen up our wardrobes for spring?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kristen permalink
    February 19, 2010 8:00 am

    maybe the yellow thing was an aversion to Georgia Tech colors. 🙂 love both those pairs of leaf earrings – though i think i have at least 4 pairs of leaf earrings, so i will sport those this spring instead!

  2. February 19, 2010 9:41 am

    Those leaf earrings are awesome! And I have to say, I love those flats even though I have a semi-aversion to pointy-toed flats. My feet are big enough, you know? haha.

Leave a Reply

