Skip to content

These boots are (not) made for walking

February 22, 2010

So, I’m in New York for a long weekend visiting Jenny. There has been lots of walking, lots of eating … and not a whole lot of shopping. We’re both trying to stick to our (very thrifty) budgets, but Sunday afternoon, we decided to journey to Brooklyn to visit the famed Beacon’s Closet.

Being the intrepid (read: cheap) New Yorkers that we are, we decided to walk there from our Lower East Side brunch spot.

Now, according to my trusty Google Maps, the route is about 3.2 miles. But we wandered around the LES for a little while, so I’m assuming it was closer to 3.5 miles.

And what shoes was I wearing? Oh, just my 4-inch red wedge boots.

Was it worth the walk (and the five blisters I got)? Let’s just say I would have walked twice the distance in stilettos for the thrifty heaven that awaited us.

More than three miles later, we arrived at Beacon’s Closet, otherwise known as thrift store mecca. Seriously. If you’re ever in the tri-state area, this should be at the top of your destination list. Organized by color, there are racks and racks and racks of shirts, jeans, dresses, skirts and shoes. My only complaint is that shoes weren’t organized by size. Every decent pair I picked up was a size 8 or 8.5. Not fun for me and my size 9.5 feet. But the clothes are all in amazing condition and sifting through them is like the best treasure hunt ever.

Note: The above photos are not from Beacon’s Closet. I took them at Cheap Jack’s a random vintage store Jenny and I stumbled upon on 28th and 5th Avenue, on Saturday. I didn’t want my camera confiscated at Beacon’s Closet.

My stealth dressing room photo

About two hours later, we emerged with our purchases, exhilarated and exhausted. Jenny remained strong, with just a necklace to show for her time. If you don’t fall in love with anything, you just can’t force it.

However, I got lucky and scored. The prizes: three dresses, a scarf and a cropped leather jacket that fits me like a glove.

Dress 1, Leather coat, dancin’ like a fool

Dress 2

Dress 3

Damage? About $100. I’m so in love with the leather jacket that I don’t even care.

And yes, we took the subway home.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 7:38 pm

    Aww, your red boots are great, even if they are blister-causing. Your picks are gorgeous — I especially love your leather jacket and that last grey dress!

    I wish I had spent more time during my visit to Beacon’s. Also, do they have a rule against photo-taking there? For however many bloggers extol the store’s virtues, you’d think they’d be photog-friendly.

    Hope the rest of the trip is great!

Trackbacks

  1. A Thrifty Threads thrifting adventure « Thrifty Threads
  2. Today’s resolution: Yoga! «
  3. What a year, Thrifty Threads! « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

