Skip to content

closet analytics: a second report

February 23, 2010

It’s now been a month of tracking my clothing habits. It’s certainly made me put a little more effort into what I wear each day — I always give it effort, but not always thought. I now recall more easily when I last wore things and have been trying to really take advantage of all the elements in my wardrobe, without doing so just to skew the numbers and make it seem like I wear all my clothes (because, let’s be honest, I don’t).

I’ve yet to tackle the hardest part of this endeavor, that being the closet cleanout. I have, however, tackled the far less arduous tasks of cleaning out my CD collection, DVD collection and iTunes library. I’m still working to mount the courage for the closets and drawers. However, as we sit on the cusp of spring (I say as the forecast mentions a possibility of snow flurries tonight — I’ve stopped listening to them), I’m eager to dig into my clothes and really get rid of some things so I can actually see and enjoy what I own, rather than finding a great shirt crumpled in the back of a white plastic drawer. (The fact that I am still using white plastic drawers almost two years after college speaks to the fact that I really need to get rid of some clothes.)

To the numbers, though. I haven’t been perfect in keeping track of my activity, and I have definitely missed days here and there, but I’m doing my best. Additionally, this is becoming quite an Excel lesson. A few things to share:

  • 152 articles of clothing tallied
  • 51 articles from Target, the most from any one store and accounting for 33 percent of items worn
  • Next most frequently occurring stores: Victoria’s Secret (10 percent), Macy’s (6.5 percent) and Madewell (5 percent)

The whole point of this exercise is to find the efficiency of my closet, which I can’t do without the closet cleanout. I don’t have any big commitments during the next few weekends, so I can feel it coming. Lord, beer me strength.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink*
    February 23, 2010 9:20 pm

    This is a really cool way to find out what you actually wear. Are you also keeping track of your thrifting purchases? And do you count them as “thrift” or where they were originally from (if known)? Just curious.

    I’m trying to increase my closet’s efficiency too. When I’m skimming my wardrobe, trying to figure out what to wear in the morning, if I continually pass over the same article not ever wanting to wear it, I’ve started building a pile in the corner of my room. Eventually, my plan is to take the nicer of the items to Plato’s Closet and try to make some extra cash. My biggest dilemma is that usually I still like the article of clothing — I just simply don’t wear it. i.e. I really should just get rid of it.

Leave a Reply

