Skip to content

Knowing when to splurge

March 3, 2010

Sometimes, I’m just not willing to save a few bucks.

Once in a while you just have to have something, and it means shelling out more money for it than you’d like. I’ve come to this crossroads a few times recently: Do I choose the cheapest option, or do I need to put a little more money into this purchase?

The first was mascara. My starter mascara was Maybelline Great Lash, because it’s what my mom bought me for dance shows throughout my childhood. Sometime during my high school career came the debut of Maybelline Lash Discovery, featuring the mini-brush that wasn’t any wider than the wand. I converted. In college, spending extra just to get the tiny brush seemed crazy, and I went back to the old Great Lash. A few weeks ago, I decided I was going to see if the mini-brush still packs all the wonder into its tiny bristles that I remembered. To me, IT DOES. It’s so easy to get those little baby lashes! I’ve resigned myself to spending $6 instead of $4 on mascara but, since I rarely buy makeup, I can live with it.

Second item: running shoes. I’ve had the same ones for about two years, which is four times as long as I should have them, according to some people. I’m not so offended by this length of time, but I think serious runners (a group of people of which I don’t consider myself a part) would shun me for this blasphemy. I visited two DSW’s last week and ended up with these beautiful New Balances for $50 — not the cheapest pair I tried on, but I trust NB and they have fuchsia laces! I’ve never had running shoes that aren’t white, gray and blue, so I feel pretty boss in these.

The last situation was another shoe purchase. I first found and bought these (black) boots in Marshall’s, and was most excited about their convertible feature that lets them act as booties OR regular boots. They have a baby wedge, they’re loose on the calf and they’re versatile. (As you may remember, I need new boots.) When I got them home and put them on with socks, they were too tight. None of the three Marshall’s I visited had the half size up, so I took to the Internet with determination.

I found them at Nordstrom.com, of all places, for $3 more than at Marshall’s. However, with tax and shipping, the total came to $65, which was $11 more than the Marshall’s total. But after having these boots in my mind for a week (and I think passing the 7-day rule by default!), I became fixated on these suckers and decided I had to have them. $65 and 3-4 days later, they’ll be mine. Not my best bargain, but I can’t say I’m not jazzed to get these in the mail.

Sometimes you have to throw a few extra bucks into something, if it’s worth the investment or it’s really going to make you happy. These have been my latest splurges. What is it you sometimes just can’t scrimp on?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 5:27 pm

    I’m slowly learning when to splurge on shoes. More expensive shoes really are more comfortable, but we all know I hold a huge allegiance to my beloved Target heels. I have a few pairs of nicer shoes, and I love them, as well.

    I’m with you on running shoes, too. Running causes such wear and tear in your feet and legs, and it’s so important to have a good pair of shoes.

    When I “splurge” lately, it’s usually on a nice meal out or organic groceries, honestly. Between thrift stores, H&M and the like, it really is possible to build a wardrobe on “cheaper” pieces. (Luckily, I don’t have to wear business-dress at work, ever, so I don’t have many nice suits or anything like that. But I would probably “splurge” on those if I had to.)

  2. Melanie permalink*
    March 3, 2010 8:17 pm

    I find it hard to splurge. I try to be really careful about what I purchase because I don’t want to end up 1) with more things I end up not wearing or 2) feeling like a wasted my hard-earned money.

    If I find I’ve been thinking of something for a long time, it’s probably worthwhile because I’ll actually wear it and enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

