Skip to content

Cheap is great. Free is better.

March 4, 2010

Thrifting is a form of shopping from which I can walk away feeling virtually guilt-free.

  1. You’re bound to find great deals.
  2. The thrill of the search.
  3. It’s environmentally-friendly — you’re turning others’ trash into your new treasures.

As you’ve already heard, 4/5 of the Thrifty ladies were able to go shopping together over the weekend. Here are my finds:

(Left to Right)
Diagonally striped, square-neck tee: $13.50;
Black, floral pattern vest: $9;
BCBG Max Azria purple silk top: $13.50

That same day, I scored three new dresses from Shannon. A while back, we planned to get together for a clothing swap. Due to busy schedules of work and other commitments, we weren’t able to completely pull it off. However, we still managed to trade in a way.

I had an empire waist V-neck purple top in my closet that I always liked, but it really just worked better on Shannon. She had a silver dress that I think I’d worn more times than she had. So a switch was in order. Anyway, she threw in two more dresses she didn’t wear.

Such cute dresses! I’m excited to try out the middle one during the next week on my beach trip.

As soon as I have time, I need to go through my closet again and ditch more items I don’t wear. This will free up more space, and maybe even spur more clothing swaps and thrifting trips.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 2:10 pm

    might also love thredup.com and thredup.com/kids – place to swap your (and your kids) clothes online! Think: Netflix for clothes 🙂

    • Melanie permalink*
      March 4, 2010 3:34 pm

      Great suggestion. What a cool concept. Thanks for the tip!

  2. March 4, 2010 10:16 pm

    Let me know if I can take any of those items off your hands! 😉

    • Melanie permalink*
      March 5, 2010 7:36 am

      Absolutely. You’re first on the list!

  3. Katrina MacDougall permalink
    March 4, 2010 11:48 pm

    The striped tee and vest are goregous!

    I love the fact that you see thrifting as eco-friendly, and that you love “the thrill of the search.” The people I know mainly shop at thrift stores to save money, but you’re completely right! There’s so many upsides to thrifting that people don’t realize.

    • Melanie permalink*
      March 5, 2010 7:36 am

      Thanks! I’m glad you appreciate my perspective. Thrifting definitely is a good way to save money, but to be honest, I probably spent more on these items than I would if they were on the clearance rack at Target. Another upside, though, is they’re probably better quality.

Trackbacks

  1. March Roundup « Thrifty Threads
  2. Spring Roundup « Thrifty Threads
  3. Multi-purpose: The forgotten jumper « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

