Skip to content

Shiny happy people

March 8, 2010

OK, guys. It’s confession time. Here goes.

Hi, my name is Shannon, and I have an online shopping problem.

Though I don’t consider myself addicted, I definitely like to browse online retailers. And sometimes, I get carried away looking at accessories at Forever 21 and my debit card number just types itself into a form and then sooner or later, a package shows up at my office or apartment. I’m like a magpie. I’m drawn to shiny things. And this spring-ish weather we’re experiencing in Atlanta isn’t helping matters.

I spent Friday sifting through Elle, Teen Vogue, InStyle, People’s Style Guide and Lucky, maniacally tearing out pages for inspiration. Sundresses, sandals and flowers — oh my!

I honestly don’t ever remember being more ready for spring, so while I sat at home being jealous of Melanie on her beach trip this week, I cured my spring fever by snapping up some pieces from Forever 21, mecca of cheap accessories and polyester blend dresses.

It all started with that darn shirt.

I saw it in People’s Spring Style Guide and fell in lust. It became true love when I saw it was from Forever 21 and cost $12.50. Unfortunately, the damage had been done, and I snapped up a few pairs of $3 earrings and those two rings on the bottom left, as well.

And yes, I bought a fedora. Sometimes, I don’t like to blow dry my hair or I sleep on my bangs the wrong way and they look wonky. I think I can pull it off. And if the opposite turns out to be true, I can always give it to one of my fellow Thrifty Thread-ers.

What are your must-haves for spring? Is your spring fever as out of control as mine? I’m definitely done buying accessories. Next up on my list is a new bikini. But that’s another post for another day…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    March 8, 2010 11:38 pm

    Grr, I want those pink/corally earrings. And I’m oddly lemming that fedora. I think that’ll be hot for summer.

    • March 9, 2010 10:15 am

      I know! I’m pretty psyched about the hat, and summer/spring in general. I just want to sit by my pool all day.

  2. Melanie permalink*
    March 9, 2010 10:35 am

    Love all those items. And hey, it’s not like they were individually that pricey, so it’s not so terrible!

    • March 9, 2010 4:29 pm

      Very true. Not pictured are the two necklaces I also bought, however. (Forever 21’s Web site said they didn’t exist when I searched for them.)

      And I meant to buy that flower ring in turquoise! Oh well.

  3. March 9, 2010 5:29 pm

    that’s not too bad at all! at least it didn’t break the bank, right? 🙂

    i bought a fedora-ish hat a few weeks ago, too. i don’t know if you’d actually call it a fedora. maybe not at all. but i am so freakishly white it was necessary to keep the sun off my scalp, neck and face. so stylish or not, it’s on. haha!

    i am really loving those pink-y earrings, too!

    • March 11, 2010 5:27 pm

      You’re right, it didn’t break the bank, but I’ve probably been shopping a bit too much lately. I’m sure I’ll post some goofy pictures of myself in the fedora so everyone can judge whether or not it works.

  4. March 11, 2010 5:24 pm

    I really like those leaf earrings. And don’t feel too bad — you got a lot of items for the cost. I can’t believe that shirt is only $12.50.

    If I were shopping right now, I’d be all over Target’s Merona dresses…they have super cute stuff for spring this year.

    • March 11, 2010 5:25 pm

      Haha. You and I have very similar shopping patterns. I counted last week and I own 41 dresses – not quite your 45, but pretty darn close! Dresses are the only articles of clothing I ever seem to want to buy!

Leave a Reply

