Skip to content

“I’m late for a jeans-folding seminar.”

March 13, 2010

Hello, my lovely thrifty threaders! Just wanted to let you all know that I indeed am alive and have not forgotten about you. Unfortunately, I am living on rice and beans pay in the city and until I make more, I can’t afford to spend on anything other than rent, food, and the occasional 3-buck chuck for sanity. So, I’m not even going into stores because I know I will just whip out the credit card and binge. (Self-control is not one of my strongest points. Avoidance, on the other hand, is.) Hence, my pathetic lack of inspiration for posts. Hopefully, this shopping fast won’t last much longer and I can start posting much more regularly again with vintage finds and totally unnecessary splurges.

In the mean time, I have nailed a part-time job at The GAP to snag some extra income and take advantage of the extremely generous discount. It will suffice as my “a little something” for a bit. We are encouraged to wear GAP clothing on the clock, so I can tell myself “I have to”  to reduce guilt. I truly felt as if I had died and went to heaven last night when I bought a pair of “sexy boot” jeans for half off at $35. I don’t know if it’s because they fit amazingly or because I hadn’t bought anything new in so long, but I was on cloud nine. I’ve been meaning to buy a new pair for a while, and let me tell you, these jeans are worth the wait. They fit me like a glove and not a tight, uncomfortable glove to be confused with leggings. They hug at all the right places and frankly, my ass looks divine in them. (A truly difficult feat.) I recommend everyone go to the GAP this weekend where we’re having our “recycled denim” event — bring in your old jeans and get 30 percent off a new pair. Sweet deal. That totally isn’t even my salesperson self talking, either. These jeans are amazing.

Until next time, that’s all I got, folks! Oh, and this, which says it all …

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 5:44 pm

    I will attest to the awesome-ness of Gap’s current sale. Just returned from Lenox Mall, where I scored a new pair of dark skinny jeans for $50. My last pair of skinny jeans were $15, from Forever 21 and lasted me two years, so I’m hoping to get my money’s worth from this new pair.
    P.S. I recycled a pair of American Eagle Flare jeans (circa 2004). Just realized this makes them SIX years old. With the exception of a high-school themed party, I haven’t worn them since freshman year of college. Why do I hold onto clothes I never wear for so long?!?!

Leave a Reply

