Skip to content

Friends don’t let friends Shop Block.

March 18, 2010

Listen up, guys! Today is the official start of my 45-Day Shop Block.

It’s come to my attention that I have several articles of clothing (mostly skirts and a few tops) that rarely — if ever — get worn. It’s also come to my attention that I may or may not own more than 40 dresses. (And no, I don’t know how that happened). Therefore, in the spirit of saving money and stretching my wardrobe, I will not be shopping for 45 days. (This originally began as a 30-day challenge, but Amanda said 30 days was too easy.)

I mean, at least I have a variety of colors.

So, until April 29, I will not buy shoes, clothes, jewelry or other accessories — a Shop Block, if you will.

(Why the name “Shop Block?” I’m immature and think it’s funny. Shut up.)

However, I am going to include one notable exception: I need a new bikini. This isn’t just me saying that. I haven’t bought a new one in at least three years and my “newest” one is getting quite thin. (Believe me, you don’t want me hanging around my apartment complex’s pool in a worn-out bikini.)

Why am I announcing this on Thrifty Threads? To hold myself accountable to the (few) readers we have. If I just vow to myself not to shop, we all know I’ll be entering my debit card number on Modcloth or Target within weeks, if not days (or, ahem, hours).

And truthfully, I’m guessing this will help me identify some holes in my wardrobe that need filling (i.e. I need cardigans in various colors, or a certain style of skirt), so I’ll have a more concise spring shopping list once my drought is over.

So, it’s time to get creative with what I have. And, if I’m being honest with myself, I have a lot. This should force me to try out new combinations (pattern mixing! dresses as skirts!) and wear some items that wouldn’t otherwise get worn.

Fairly certain I won’t run out of clothes. (Kidding.) (I think.)

As a “last hurrah” of sorts, I headed to Target on Monday to check out the Liberty of London line. I’m sure it won’t surprise you to find out I’ve never met a floral print I didn’t like, so I was all. over. this. stuff. However, I contained my excitement and only bought two shirts, both of which I’ve already worn. (You’re welcome, bank account.)

I definitely recommend checking this line out; the shirts I bought were each only $20, and the quality was fantastic. The shirts were offered in XS-XL, and fit true to size (i.e. I bought the size I generally wear and they fit perfectly). There was one dress in particular I loved … Hopefully it will still be available (clearance, perhaps?) on April 29.

For better or worse, as of today, I’m officially shop-blocking myself.

(OK, I couldn’t resist throwing that one in there. Ha.)

Don’t tempt me with sales and discounts, guys.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    March 18, 2010 5:47 pm

    I hadn’t bought clothes in a month…til I went to ATL. Then I got three new dresses and a skirt this week. Yikes.

  2. Laura permalink
    March 18, 2010 8:11 pm

    Just fyi, I’ve officially added your blog (despite it being a group blog) to my reading list 😛

    Anyways, I started tracking all my expenditures last July, and realized that I spent a grand total of (prepare yourself) $53 on clothes/shoes/accessories last year between July and December. I think I’ve taken the blocking to heart a little too much 🙂 You would probably die if you saw how many clothes I have: SAM owns more clothing than I do.

    Good luck on the 45 days though!

    • March 18, 2010 8:49 pm

      You don’t like group blogs? (fyi, I also have a personal blog at http://todaysresolutions.wordpress.com.)

      And damn, girl! I need some of your willpower and/or disinterest. Shopping is just … one of my hobbies (as if the blog didn’t tip you off!). I’m hoping this will help me save some money, but I’ll probably just spend it on pedicures and books. Fail fail fail. I feel like 45 days probably sounds like such a short time to some people, but we’ll see what happens.

  3. March 19, 2010 6:03 pm

    i love that you said i thought it was too easy! haha spoken from someone who definitely doesn’t go 30 days without buying something 🙂 pretty excited to see some outfit photos (here? todaysresolution?) of mixing up your wardrobe. and don’t feel so bad about the dresses – after watching joann do her dress project, i counted about a week or two ago and almost died the # was so ridiculous. as in so ridiculous and kind of embarrassing that i will probably not even blog about it – HA! lots of giveaways and things going to plato’s closet soon!

    • March 19, 2010 7:31 pm

      I feel like 45 days isn’t a long to some people, but it really is to me! I’m awful.

      I’ll definitely be posting outfits here and at Today’s Resolutions. I need to get better about taking photos, but it’s so annoying with the self-timer! I’ve had some really cute outfits lately (like the one I described on your blog w/ the new Liberty of London blouse) but I just haven’t had it in me to take photos.

      And I want to know how many dresses you have! honestly, if I could get away with wearing nothing but dresses for the rest of my life, I totally would. They’re so much more comfortable than jeans.

      • March 26, 2010 8:17 am

        finally getting around to responding to this… yikes, i am behind! the first time i went through my dresses the number was in the 70’s (76 to be exact). BUT you must keep in mind it did include a couple of cocktail dresses… not that there are many but it makes me feel better. i have purged many of them since that embarrassing day and haven’t gone back to recount. i’m hoping i set enough aside to sell/giveaway that the number is at least below 50. i’ll let you know… either way, it is shameful haha!

  4. March 20, 2010 6:58 am

    More power to you! I can’t wait to see what you discover about yourself and your spending, as well as what outfits you come up with!

    I’m 26 days into my shopping ban…I’m not at the cracking point yet but Target’s Liberty line and Land’s End’s new dress line are so not helping right now.

Trackbacks

  1. “Facing the headwinds and growing up…” «
  2. The Makeup Monologues « Thrifty Threads
  3. Shopping is my therapy. « Thrifty Threads
  4. Hi. I’m not here but my shoes are, so leave them a message. « Thrifty Threads
  5. Shop your stash « Thrifty Threads
  6. Multi-purpose: The forgotten jumper « Thrifty Threads
  7. What a year, Thrifty Threads! « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

