Skip to content

Here comes the “Sunray”

March 25, 2010

It’s no secret that spring has officially arrived — you know, other than those snow flurries we saw in Atlanta on Monday.

To celebrate the first day of spring (and a beautiful day), my boyfriend and I traveled to Athens for a visit to Terrapin Brewery.

It has a setup conducive to relaxing outside. Lots of people bring blankets, dogs and go hang out and drink with friends for a couple of hours.

And the fact that it’s in a college town always makes for good people-watching, especially when related to clothing selection.

Last time I visited (during cooler weather) Shannon and I spotted several leggings-as-pants catastrophes. But this time, I was fortunate to witness more positive combinations.

So only being semi-creepy, I snapped shots of styles that helped me regain my faith in the fashion choices of current college students.

While at Terrapin, I tweeted, “I need some light colored cowboy boots.” To be honest, I wanted them since I went thrifting with the other Thrifty ladies, but this weekend made me want them even more. Floral dresses with cowboy boots? Yes, please!

Flip flops used to be my staple footwear during warm months (and sometimes pretty chilly ones). But now I’m sticking more with flats and actual sandals. Something to do with growing up and having a full-time job, I guess. But this also opens up a door to so many more possibilities. I’m a big fan of these strappy sandals I’ve been seeing everywhere.

Mostly, I’m just elated we’re having fairly-consistently warm weather now. It’s nice to be able to spend time outside without a coat and get a little bit of color in my skin. And hooray for full-on spring fashion!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 2:39 pm

    I’m so glad fashion in Athens is picking up. Even if their combinations aren’t too creative or different, at least no one is wearing leggings as pants and they’re all weather-appropriate.

    I’m all about gladiator sandals for spring. I went through two identical pairs of gold ones from Target in 2008, and I still have them, but I don’t think they’re going to be wearable for too much longer, unfortunately.

    Cowboy boots though … I’m not sure I can pull them off. I can definitely see you wearing a pair, though.

    Also, the girl on the far left in the top set looks very much like someone we used to work at The R&B with…

    • Melanie permalink*
      March 26, 2010 6:21 am

      I agree. It was definitely enough to get excited for some real spring weather!

      She does look like someone from The R&B, but I don’t believe she was. However, I did see two people from there — one was actually the girl she looks like. Go figure.

Trackbacks

  1. These are a few of my favorite things… « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

