Skip to content

Do comfortable, cute shoes exist?

March 27, 2010

Last night when I stepped out of the shower, I stared down at my feet for a good few minutes. Droplets from my soaking hair hit the bath mat while I stood there, staring, contemplating over what looked to me at a pair of wider-than-usual feet. Had I gained weight? Impossible. I can barely afford food and walk everywhere. I’ve lost weight, if anything. Have they always looked like this? No, something was definitely off. I’ve always had unusually tiny feet. I realized that in my month-long retail gig tenure, my feet have become permanently swollen from standing on my feet for 6- to 8-hour shifts in terribly unsupportive shoes.

At The GAP, we’re only allowed to wear Converse sneakers (a product endorsed by The GAP) or flats. Even open-toed sandals as long as they’re not flip-flops are acceptable. We are absolutely encouraged to look cute and show off our personal styles, which I admire and completely appreciate. So, I started off with my Rocket Dogs flats:

At the end of a mere three or four hours, I could feel my feet throbbing like a pulsing heartbeat. I’d get home to my apartment and literally sit for hours, only getting up when absolutely necessary. After a few more torturous shifts, I decided to invest in some Dr. Scholl’s at the recommendation of my similarly ailing coworkers. ~15 bucks on a pair of gel insoles. While they do help add some support for a couple hours, at the end of the shift my feet were still suffering from the same problem.

Then I switched to Converse. After all, they are sneakers, right? They should feel better than flats. So I got a pair of high-top, grey All-Star Converses (which, by the way, make me feel boyishly adorable and I love them so):

Yeah, so they make me feel like I could pass off as a hipster in Williamsburg, and I can pretend it’s like, Bryan Adams playing from my iPod and not Ke$ha on the subway. But comfort the Converses do not provide for longer than an hour or two. I got home last night with some mean heel blisters and again, throbbing footsies. So much so that I had to bail on plans to go out. This is beginning to interfere with my social life. Whoa, not cool.

So, I called my Mamacita and shared with her my shoe sob story. She cut me off about two sentences in (Mom is a huge fan of brevity — I might be adopted) and told me she’d gladly pay for a pair of supportive, cute shoes, no matter the cost. Woohoo!

The problem is, shoe stores won’t let you walk around in their shoes for five hours before you purchase them. So that’s where you guys come in. I will of course be researching like a madwoman trying to find some consistency out there, but there’s nothing better than a friend’s trusted recommendation. If anyone has any advice for a pair of cute, versatile, but most importantly COMFORTABLE shoes that have never let them down, please, please pass along any information my way. And remember, in this rare case, price is not an issue. My feet will thank you.

EDIT:  I’ve been informed there’s a line of Crocs flats that aren’t completely heinous, are super comfortable and under 50 bucks. Hmmmm …

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2010 10:20 am

    Okay… I could get long-winded here because I’m a teacher and on my feet for 8+ hours a day standing, walking, squatting, etc…

    Since money is no object:

    1. Sam Edelman. I have two pairs of shoes by them – one flat and one very low heel. The flats don’t seem to have a lot of cushioning but MAN they are comfortable. And they make some pretty cute styles most of the time.

    2. Me Too. Even more comfortable than the Sam Edelmans. They have a couple of different insoles, I think, but the one on the ‘Layton’ flat is srsly, ridiculously comfortable (the shoe kind of turns up a little when you’re not wearing them… that’s the insole I’m talking about). I do not exaggerate a bit when I say they feel like bedroom slippers. I should’ve made this #1.

    3. Linea Paolo. A few cute styles right now that are also comfortable. I have the ‘Frisco’ flat but I tried on one more that was equally comfortable.

    Hope this helps! Keep us posted.

    • omgitsjpax permalink*
      March 27, 2010 11:46 am

      Thank you so much for the advice! I will look into these brands, and definitely update when I make my purchase!

  2. March 27, 2010 12:57 pm

    I think it’s Kenneth Cole that has a line called 925, because you’re supposed to be able to wear them comfortably from 9 to 5. I think there are flats involved.

  3. Kristen permalink
    March 27, 2010 5:08 pm

    I have a pair of black flats by Nurture (nurtureshoes.com) that are really amazingly comfortable, AND cute. Patent leather mary jane style. However, most of their shoes are kind of heinous, but they sell them at Dillard’s and the pair I have was about $50.

    Also, I think you meant Ryan Adams. “Summer of ’69” is awesome, but, unfortunately, not hip.

    • March 27, 2010 5:11 pm

      Bahahaha — I’m not even going to edit it because that goes to show how “hip” I actually am.

    • Elisabeth permalink
      March 29, 2010 9:44 am

      Calvin Klein flats are super-comfortable, and you can usually find them on sale on the interwebs.

  4. March 29, 2010 2:27 pm

    Sam Edelman definitely has comfortable shoes- especially his awesome gladiator sandals. Also, Gianni Bini has the most comfortable and SO cute flats! They run about $60-100 but are definitely worth it if you walk and stand a lot. I’m obsessed with mine- they’re cushioned and have a rubber sole so your feet will be happy.

  5. Ally permalink
    April 16, 2010 5:52 pm

    The Croc flats are pretty cute and come in a lot of different colors. They’re really, really comfy.

  6. Melanie Stark permalink
    May 16, 2010 12:37 pm

    Ok, so THE most comfortable shoes I have ever owned: Sketchers Shape-ups. They aren’t the cutest pair in the world, and they cost me about $100. But I have to say – and I am a very thrifty person – it was the best $100 I ever spent. I can’t say whether or not the “shape-up” part really works. All I know is that it feels like walking on air. I have trouble getting comfy shoes too, and as a mom of a toddler, I NEED comfortable feet. These shoes keep my patience a lot better than my cute shoes. But OMG, what I would give for a sexy pair of shoes that didn’t hurt my feet. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

