Skip to content

March Roundup

April 1, 2010

I began these monthly roundups in February as a way to document some of my favorite combinations and hold myself accountable for putting effort into at least three outfits each month. (I know it doesn’t sound like much, but when you hear there’s an accident on the interstate, and you need to get out the door for work, there’s not a lot of creativity going on.)

This time around, I’ve cropped my face out of the photos for a couple reasons: 1) I feel like it’s easier to focus on the outfits this way, and 2) These are usually taken immediately after arriving home from work (and fighting traffic), so I’m not always looking my best. Do you have an opinion one way or another on the crop vs. no crop issue?

Yellow Cardigan: Target
White Cami: Old Navy
Skirt: Calvin Klein (thrifted)
Boots: Sonoma from Kohl’s
Sandals: Mossimo from Target
Necklace: Walmart

I wore this look two different ways. The first was while it was a little cooler, so the boots added some extra warmth as I dreamed of spring. When spring truly arrived for the first time, I broke out one of my favorite pairs of sandals for a slightly different feel. I like this look because it is casual yet cute, and it’s super comfortable!

Vest: thrifted
White Tee: Target
Jeans: Old Navy – The Diva, skinny
Black Flats: Mossimo from Target
Necklace: Kohl’s (I think)

I love how simple this outfit is, yet it automatically looks dressed up (in an effortless way) because of the vest. The necklace (though I like how it looks with the vest) was kind of awkward for all practical purposes because it’s really long. In this photo, I have it looped twice with part tucked into my shirt. It looks OK, but didn’t stay in place very well.

Blue Top: Rodarte for Target
Nude Cami: Old Navy
Jeans: Old Navy – The Diva, skinny (Yes, I have two pair: one regular, one long)
Silver Sandals: Mossimo from Target
Earrings: Target

The jury is still out on this Rodarte top. I like the look and that it’s different than anything else I own. My complaints: it’s a little itchy; it’s difficult to wear something underneath it (especially since it’s low-cut, it makes for an awkward neckline); it requires hand washing. The nude cami breaks up the monotonous navy of the outfit, but I might try pairing the top with a white skirt at some point. Love these sandals — perfect for a spring day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 9:05 am

    I know I already said I prefer the non-cropped version, but I’m not really one to talk either. I’m still trying to get over my fear of posing awkwardly. And I love that you used the “Tool Academy” category! Ha!

Leave a Reply

