Skip to content

Real wild child

April 5, 2010

Alright. Let’s take a trip down memory lane, shall we?

It’s come to my attention that several trends that women my age wore as children are now back in style. Here’s my comment on Jenny’s last post:

I also distinctly remember wearing overalls in the fifth grade — with one strap loose, mind you — WITH CLOGS. I had these high-heeled clogs that I pretty much never took off for all of 1997 and 1998. How is it possible that the trends from my childhood are returning? I’M ONLY 22.

All drama aside, I went to my parents’ house for Easter last weekend and took a look through the many, many photo albums documenting my childhood. Oh look, there I am wearing a floral dress in 1989 … and 1991 … and 1995. Yup, floral dresses are all over stores now.

So, against my better judgment, I’m sharing some photos from my childhood with a few examples of the more modern version. (And yes, even a few photos from the awkward years are included.) Don’t mock me too harshly.

OK. Thoughts? Personally, I love anything floral right now, and I have a pair of shoes that could perhaps be considered clogs. I’m not a fan of the suspenders, denim shirts or overalls. And those patterned leggings? Can rot in hell. Ew. (I tried to pick items I would consider wearing right now, but seriously. Those leggings are three shades of hideous.)

Really though, I just think it’s funny that all these things we wore are already sort of cycling back into the fashion rotation. I didn’t think I was old enough for that, but apparently I am. Is nothing new???

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink*
    April 6, 2010 7:31 am

    Great job Shannon! Love this collage!

    I definitely wore floral skirts with suspenders around age 4.

    I’m loving floral dresses right now too. Just bought four yesterday at Ross (oops, I have intentions to return one or two, but at least they were less than $15 each). At least the modern versions don’t have those doily-like collars!

    • April 6, 2010 9:04 am

      Haha, thanks! My Photoshop skills need work and I was a bit rushed, but it was really fun going through all those photos. There were a few other pictures that didn’t get used, and I’m definitely not exaggerating when I say I didn’t take those horrible platform clogs off for all of 5th grade.

  2. omgitsjpax permalink*
    April 6, 2010 10:07 pm

    Are you doing the Soulja Boy dance in the overalls pic?

    • April 7, 2010 9:28 am

      hahahaha. Since it was 1998, it was probably more akin to the Macarena.

Trackbacks

  1. What a year, Thrifty Threads! « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

