Skip to content

The Evolution of Hair

April 8, 2010

Just for fun, here’s a retrospective of my hairstyles in recent memory.

We women have the ability to transform our appearance at any given moment. We can buy a new outfit. We can paint our nails. We can get in shape. But most obviously, we can completely makeover our hairstyle.

Go through a messy breakup? Bam: A new you. Move to a new city? You can reinvent yourself. Or maybe you just want to shake things up. Sure, why not?

As someone who hasn’t seen my completely natural hair color in about a decade, I’m no stranger to altering my appearance. I can tell you, however, it’s not easy to keep up a new look – especially if you’re coloring more than a few shades from your natural. As you can see, I’m not daring enough for dramatic change, but maintenance still can prove an pricey ordeal. I’m sure many of you already know this from tried and true experience.

In some of the images above, I had blonde highlights and cuts done by a professional stylist on which I spent about $120 three times per year. Not an outrageous price, but unnecessary, in my opinion.

Since summer 08, I’ve been dying my hair from a box every 4-6 months (or whenever the urge strikes). And I stick with a color only about a shade or two different from my natural color. I also only get my hair cut about as frequently – and I don’t go to high-brow salons. (I like to call this the “recession look,” but I’m actually pretty happy with it.)

Maybe someday I’ll be able to afford a fancy stylist. But in the meantime, I’ll be cutting the front part of my hair myself and only getting the rest done when it actually gets out of hand. In fact, even if I had a surplus of money, I’d probably rather spend it elsewhere. Hair grows, after all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    April 8, 2010 2:14 pm

    I love me some box dye. My hair right now is Garnier Chocolate Raspberry Truffle and it lasts really long and doesn’t damage my hair too much. I got my last box for 6 bucks at Target…not a bad deal. I got highlights done at like Hair Cuttery once and it still cost my 120 bucks. I’m going to the Paul Mitchell School on Tuesday to get my hair cut and highlighted back to blonde for Andrea’s wedding and it’s is only supposed to cost 60 bucks. I am interested to see the outcome.

  2. April 8, 2010 3:02 pm

    I’ve never dyed my hair and I don’t plan to until I go gray! (Hopefully, that won’t be for like 30 more years, but my mom went gray in her 20s. God help me.) I never did the highlight thing in high school because I was a swimmer and hair dye + chlorine freaked me out. Now, I like my natural color too much to mess with it, and my stylist would probably murder me if I went behind her back and did it. (She refuses to dye my hair herself.)

    I used to toy with the idea of going auburn, which is really the only other color that interests me.

    However … I do get bored with my hairstyle quite often and change that up quite a bit. I’m am currently in the process of growing my bangs out. It’s taking so long!

Leave a Reply

