Skip to content

A quick tip for spring skin

April 11, 2010

OK, so I know I have been MIA as of late. I blame grad school, my birthday, and some traveling. But do not fear — I have plenty of posts in mind set to come once finals are done and my mind can take a break. But for now, I have just a quick makeup tip that can help stretch products you might already have this spring and summer.

Wearing foundation can be tricky in the summer. If you live someplace that is even somewhat humid, you risk your makeup melting off throughout the day. Most women have some sort of foundation lying around whether it be liquid, mineral, or whatever, and while these might be too heavy for heat, there is a way to make them work.

Tinted moisturizers are great during spring and summer. They provide a decent amount of coverage (and most often some needed SPF) and have a good staying power for the summer. There are plenty of types to choose that can be purchased at Sephora or even your local CVS or Walgreens. But here is a tip if you don’t want to shell out more cash — take the foundation you already have an mix it with an equal part of your normal moisturizer. It really is that simple. This trick works great with mineral makeup, but can also lighten up heavier liquid foundations. You could even try the same trick with powder blush (or even bronzer) to make them last longer on the skin.

I know it’s not rocket science, but it works, and anything that can keep me from buying more products is a win in my book.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 4:38 pm

    Great tips. I hate using a lot of foundation in summer because it’s such a waste of money when it melts off. I usually use MAC’s Skinfinish powder to offset the little foundation I do use, and it still looks pretty natural.

  2. Katy permalink*
    April 11, 2010 4:42 pm

    I swear by MAC’s Skinfinish in the summer too. I use it to set my tinted moisturizer because I get oily sometimes still.

  3. June 25, 2010 10:13 am

    You can also do a mix of your foundation with your sunscreen. The sunscreen helps it stick, and provides your SPF.

Leave a Reply

