Skip to content

The Makeup Monologues

April 12, 2010

An ironic, foreshadowing tweet from last Thursday

SCENE: INT, MODEST ATLANTA APARTMENT

MOTHER: So what do you want to do? Lenox?

DAUGHTER: I can’t go shopping until April 29! Ooh but I do need a new swimsuit, and that was the one stipulation I made.

MOTHER: OK, well let’s go shopping!

DAUGHTER: Ooooh yeah, and I can still buy makeup. (Remembers tweet from two days earlier.) I should probably try to learn how to use makeup like a grown woman.

CUT TO: INTERIOR, LENOX SQUARE MALL

MOTHER AND DAUGHTER WALK THROUGH A DEPARTMENT STORE.

DAUGHTER: OK, when I said I’m willing to pay money for a good swimsuit, I didn’t mean $77 for just the bikini top!

MOTHER: I don’t blame you. Oh! The shoe section! Let’s check out the clearance.

DAUGHTER: I can’t buy shoes! (Looks around frantically for a distraction.) Hey … what’s that?

OVEREAGER SALESWOMAN: Good afternoon! Welcome to Sephora’s Spring Event. Would you care to speak with a professional about your skincare needs?

DAUGHTER: Um.

MOTHER: …

OVEREAGER SALESWOMAN, leaning in closer: You have beautiful skin. If you could change one thing about your skin, what would it be?

DAUGHTER: Well, it’s a little dry.

OVEREAGER SALESWOMAN: Tell me a little about your skincare regimen.

DAUGHTER: Um. Well. I don’t really wear a lot of makeup. Mostly just use drugstore products. But I was just saying before we came here that I could, you know, stand to learn a bit more about makeup.

OVEREAGER SALESWOMAN: Would you like to take a few minutes and speak with a representative from Philosophy? It’s the perfect brand for people who don’t wear much makeup.

DAUGHTER: Sure, I guess so.

END SCENE


Don’t judge my 140-character-necessitated grammatical errors.

And that, dear readers, is how I ended up getting an oxygen peel in the middle of Lenox Square Mall on Saturday afternoon.

You may remember that I never specified I wouldn’t buy make-up during this Shop Block.

Well, now I have. (Bought makeup, that is.)

As I repeatedly said during my little “makeover” on Saturday, I’m a shoe girl, not a makeup girl. Give me three new pairs of heels or a few new dresses over tiny bottles and compacts any day. Sure, I experimented with matching my eyeshadow to my shirt back in middle school (why did we do that again?), but I have never been one to play around with different eyeshadow colors and lipglosses.

My “beauty routine,” as I embarrassingly confessed to the Philosophy representative, consisted of Neutrogena face wash, Aveeno moisturizer, Cover Girl tinted moisturizer, Maybelline mascara and Chapstick. No concealer. No eyeshadow. No eyeliner. Nada. Pretty much equivalent to that of your average 17-year-old tomboy.

Most of the “nicer” makeup in my collection was bought for me by mom, who gave up buying me the stuff a few years ago when it became apparent I wasn’t wearing any of it.

But oh my gosh, you guys.

I may now be a convert to the Church of Sephora.

After the Philosophy and Benefit girls were done with me, I was amazed at how great my skin looked. It didn’t look like I was wearing makeup — my skin tone was just more even and glowing and everything looked a bit smoother. (Not that I have wrinkles at 22, but I don’t really want them down the road.)

(Of course, it didn’t help that I received encouragement and endorsement from Katy on Saturday during the makeover situation.)

To be clear, this was not a thrifty shopping adventure. But I’m starting to realize that pricier makeup can be worth it. I walked away with Philosophy’s Purity Cleanser, Hope in a Jar moisturizer, Eye Hope eye cream, Supernatural tinted moisturizer and Benefit’s Benetint lip and cheek stain. Nothing too crazy or out of the ordinary as far as the normal types of products I use — just four (OK, maybe five) times more expensive.

Will I buy all of these products again? Probably not. I’d probably go for Philosophy’s cheaper eye cream (Hope in a Tube) since I don’t really have fine lines or wrinkles around my eyes yet. But my skin feels (and, quite frankly, looks) amazing after just a few days of using the good stuff, rather than my usual Target specials. (You guys know I have nothing against that store. I love you, Target.)

Apparently, using “grown-up” makeup doesn’t mean I need to use primers, foundations, powders and lip liners. My “routine” is pretty much the same, but the quality of products is drastically improved. And let’s be real. Saturday’s endeavor opened a whole new realm of shopping possibilities.

When it comes to what you put on your face, think twice. Sometimes, you really do get what you pay for, and it can be worth it to make a larger investment every six months if it’ll keep your skin looking awesome for years to come. Those thrifty dresses and shoes will probably go out of style eventually, but I don’t want my face to look haggard and wrinkled in 20 or 30 years.

(Also, I got a manicure and pedicure. Purple. Loving the color for spring. Aaand now I’m done.)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 2:20 pm

    I feel about spending money on makeup the same way I feel about spending it on a good hair cut: it’s something that you “wear” every day. Your face is important, so it’s okay to spend some solid money on making sure it stays in good shape! You can still be a shoe girl and a make up girl ( trust me, I am both.)

    • April 12, 2010 3:05 pm

      I’m starting to agree with you. Of course, my amazing stylist only charges me $30 for cuts and I don’t color my hair, so I haven’t had to shell out lots of cash for my hair.

      I’m sure it won’t be long before I start trolling Sephora’s Web site for sales and become a full-blown “make-up” girl.

  2. April 12, 2010 2:24 pm

    Yay for makeup shopping trips! Your skin looks amazingly glowy and it doesn’t look like you’re wearing a lot of makeup at all. The philosophy products are great buys too — I’ve used hope in a jar and purity and loved them.

    I freakin’ love Sephora. I’m addicted to Clinique and MAC ever since I got my wedding makeup last year (I like Dior too but it’s ridic expensive).

    • April 12, 2010 3:07 pm

      Yeah, the Benefit girl used some powder on me that I didn’t end up buying, which I think contributed to the glowing. My skin doesn’t look *quite* as great as it did on Saturday, but it feels amazing and nothing’s complicated, which is exactly how I like it.

      My mom wears MAC makeup and she loves their eyeshadows especially. I literally never wear eyeshadow, so I didn’t bother buying any of the expensive stuff on Saturday.

  3. Katy permalink*
    April 12, 2010 2:59 pm

    Don’t even get me started on makeup. In the past year, I have probably spent more on makeup than clothes and more than I will ever need. Yet I can’t stop buying. I am like banned from going to Sephora and the MAC site really needs to be blocked from my computer. Purity Made Simple has really done wonders for my skin, and the peel I use had helped clear up some scarring from acne of my teenage years. A great tip for buying some of this stuff is to search eBay for deals. I have gotten great deals, you just have to know what to look for so you don’t get fakes.

    • April 12, 2010 3:10 pm

      I was so glad to see your tweet on Saturday! I have literally never spent so much on skin care products in my life, but I really should start making it more of a priority. I’ve never really had acne or skin issues, but I don’t want to deal with anything annoying down the road (although I’m sure wrinkles are inevitable). I need to just stick to the nice (expensive) basics when it comes to makeup, because I still can’t be bothered with eyeshadow or eyeliner.

  4. Laura permalink
    April 12, 2010 3:05 pm

    You know, I should probably be a grown-up about make-up one of these days too. I agree with all the comments in that it’s taking better care of your skin, etc., but it is SO hard to care about literally ANYTHING but washing my face when I have to be at work to pre-round at 5:00 am. As in, if I’m feeling especially fancy, I might, just MIGHT put on mascara.

    *Sigh* some day, it will happen. I do really love my MAC eyeshadow I bought for the wedding though.

    • April 12, 2010 3:12 pm

      My mom swears by MAC eyeshadow. That’s all she buys. And even buying a nicer cleanser or moisturizer can help a bit — you really do get what you pay for, and when you’re putting them on your face, it’s definitely important.

      That said, I can’t imagine if I had to be at work at 5 a.m. I’d probably look completely haggard every single day, with an IV of caffeine going straight into my system.

Trackbacks

  1. Confessions of a recent makeup addict « Thrifty Threads
  2. What a year, Thrifty Threads! « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

