Skip to content

A Blank Canvas

April 15, 2010

Saturday is moving day. Since August, I’ve been commuting from the suburbs to Atlanta every day for work. And this weekend, my boyfriend and I are moving to our new apartment in the city.

Since he doesn’t have a lot of preferences (other than “not too girly”) when it comes to home décor, I’ve been browsing blogs and stores in search of inspiration.

The whole process can be a little overwhelming — especially in the planning stages and seeing how I haven’t seen the actual apartment yet. Lately I’ve been thinking about the color palettes below. I’m not going to buy any actual decorations until after the move. However, I have included some images I’ve found inspiring in my search.

This first combination is looking very likely because we have a solid amount of red already (Go Dawgs). And I like the gray and cream to tone it down a little.

This combination also includes cream, but with teal/blue and taupe. I really love these colors, but I’m undecided on how I’d incorporate them into the design scheme.

I really enjoy these colors together, but I probably will stick with it as a wardrobe palette since these are cooler colors that might make our small apartment seem even smaller. Based on the images I’ve found, though, it translates nicely to home décor.

I’m also intrigued by some palette mixing…

Images via: The City Sage, Sweet Home Style

4 Comments leave one →
  1. zaci1 permalink
    April 15, 2010 11:04 am

    The color in the pictures looks great, but i’d never think of planning for a color scheme of furniture in advance myself… Beside I find it it makes the actual buying difficult; the things you want to buy never seem to fit such decisions. Guess i’d find some important object that i like (bigger table, sofa, bed…) and just adjust everything else later as it comes so that the color and style fits.

    • Melanie permalink*
      April 15, 2010 1:32 pm

      That’s a great point. Furniture is difficult to fit into the equation — especially if you’re not starting from scratch. I’m already concerned about how all the different shades of wood furniture we have are going to come together.

      We recently bought a beige couch with black accent furniture for the living room. I consciously chose those colors because I figured they’d be good for styling.

      Right now I’m thinking of painting one wall in the living room either gray or taupe. Stay tuned for follow-up posts once we get settled!

  2. April 16, 2010 11:34 am

    How exciting for you two! A great thing about living with a boy is that you get to make pretty much every design choice without interference from anyone else. Brandon was actually really happy when I finished decorating our apartment, and he was pleased that things actually matched for once, a concept he’s a bit challenged on but appreciates in the end. Also, getting to paint a wall is awesome. I wish I could… Have fun living together 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. It’s The Journey « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

