Skip to content

Another quick tip from Katy

April 17, 2010

I really enjoy doing these quick tips, mainly because they are easy to put together and my mind is full of plenty of useless (but potentially helpful) information. I should be working on a strategic brief right now, but again, blogging is much more appealing. Let me know if y’all like these because my mind is full of them.

Now stay with me here because this might sound a little wonky, but trust me, it works. I’m an Italian girl. I love cheese, pasta, pizza, and olive oil. I pretty much cook everything in olive oil these days, but this tip has nothing to do with a savory ending. I’m talking about using olive oil as a deep conditioner for your hair.

OK, I know, olive oil in my hair? Gross. Yes, at first, the idea of putting oil in your hair might seem like a bad combination. Don’t you want to try and prevent oil build up? Luckily, this doesn’t leave your hair looking like a greaseball. I stumbled upon this tip from a beauty magazine once and figured I’d give it ago. Take about a quarter cup of olive oil (I go with store brand of course, or whatever you have in your pantry) and rub it in your hair. I try and concentrate it mostly on my ends since that is what gets the driest. Then take a shower cap (or Katy’s personal favorite, a left over Target bag), put all your hair inside, clip it, and leave it for 30 minutes to an hour. After that, just rinse with shampoo and voila, your hair will be so soft, smooth, and shiny you will wonder why you ever paid for a deep conditioner.

Keeping your hair conditioned in the summer is just as important as it is during the winter. I generally wash my hair more in the summer due to sweating and such, so it is important to keep moisture in. Also, don’t even get my started on sun damage.

Once you get over the initial eck factor of using a cooking ingredient in your hair, I promise you will see great results.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink*
    April 18, 2010 11:09 am

    I enjoy your quick tips. I’ll have to try this one out sometime!

Leave a Reply

