Skip to content

“The good guys dress in black, remember that.”

April 23, 2010

You guys know I had to include a someecards reference

OK. So. I meant to write this post earlier this week, but several things got in the way. It’s been one of those weeks, multiplied by, oh, about a trillion.

Now, I will ultimately write a post with research, tips, suggestions, etc… for men who want to dress fashionably on a budget. This will have to be part one because I’m not really in the mood to research right now. Sorry y’all.

However.

Men: Once you pass your 20th or 21st birthday (and most certainly your 25th), it’s time to retire the Abercrombie and American Eagle pieces. There are infinitely more options for men than a polo that was gently worn-in before you even bought it. Wearing the graphic T-shirts and the faded polos is all well and good during undergrad, but post-college, it’s time to step it up and get a bit more creative.

Personally, I’m a big fan of the vest. It can be dressed up or down depending on the situation, but still adds instant class and takes any outfit up a notch.

Another personal favorite? A black-on-black suit with an open collar. SWOON.

Oh hey there George…

Although there are fewer styles of clothing for men as opposed to women (i.e. no skirts, dresses, etc…), I still think it’s possible to be creative. Experiment with different colors, patterns and fabrics.

I’m Chuck Bass … and you’re not.

You don’t have to wear designer duds to look good. And you don’t have to stare at your closet for an hour to pick out an outfit, as I have been known to do. (This is why I now pick out my clothes before I go to bed.)

Also. I have to say it. I’m conflicted about shorts in the workplace. Even if you work in a casual office setting, I still think it’s possible to take the time to put on a pair of khakis with a basic T-shirt.

Men, please enlighten me. Why do you some of you still insist on dressing like 17-year-olds?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    April 23, 2010 10:56 am

    Agreed on the shorts-in-the-workplace. Unless you work as an inner-city mailman in the summer who has to walk for his deliveries, put on some pants, jeesh!

    And while this is not boy-related, what’s the deal with these shorts suits for women? Why can’t you just wear a skirt if it’s hot?

Leave a Reply

