Skip to content

Thrift and sacrilege

April 24, 2010
by

I had a list of a few things I wanted to write about for the first ever men’s fashion week here on Thrifty Threads, and I struggled to decided which one was best. I decided to pick one that is semi-controversial, at least if you are one of the ladies who writes for this blog.

OK, so before I dive in to this bombshell, here is a little background information. I have been with my current boyfriend for almost eight months now. About one month in to our relationship, he let me go shopping with him which was apparently a huge deal for him, so naturally, I was honored. We went to Macy’s where we perused the “sale” racks (and by sale I mean a Lacoste polo marked down to $60) and listened to him whine about how expensive everything was.

Fast forward to about a month ago. The BF decided he wanted to pick up some new threads for our trip down to Atlanta (which we are currently in the middle off, BTW). He also stressed one thing — inexpensive. So it was no surprise  that I threw out one of my favorites, Target.

The next words that came out of his mouth will stick with me forever (OK, well maybe not forever, but a very long time).

BF: “Ewww, Target?”

EWW!? EWW?! How can Target be “ew?” With the occasional designer label at crazy low prices or quality shoes for less, how could Target be “ew” to anyone?

Taken aback, I felt the need to explore this disdain further, so I asked around. I breached the subject with a few of my girlfriends who had also suggested Target to their significant others. As I find out, they too had been met with the great Target resistance.

What was going on here? What alternative universe had we found ourselves in? How could these men not like Target?

Then I got to thinking. How much time did men really spend at Target anyways? As my boyfriend put it, when he thinks of Target, clothes are not what come to mind, rather a one-step-up-from-Walmart franchise with inexpensive shampoo and sales on cookies (well, at least for my boyfriend).  And he wouldn’t be caught dead buying clothes from Walmart.

In my desire to quell this rebellion, we drove to Target one Saturday, and low and behold, I was right (as I most often am). He found a bevy of polo shirts, shorts, and button downs that were high quality and affordable. After that, I couldn’t shut him up about the magic of Target.

Everyone has stereotypes and breaking those stereotypes can sometimes be a challenge, especially where men and fashion are concerned. But I tell you to keep an open and mind and be persistent about your Target love (or whatever store it may be). They will fall in line eventually…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 11:45 am

    I don’t think Target is worthy of an “ew,” but I’m not sure guys think clothes when they think of Target. For me, I go to Target when I want some deals on DVDs or housewares, not really for clothes or food.

  2. April 24, 2010 12:26 pm

    I think Tom Ford should do a men’s line for Target. That would be pretty freakin’ sweet.

  3. Bryan permalink
    April 26, 2010 11:56 pm

    I think a lot of resentment toward Target comes from men have been there for in the past. When I was a child it did sell me toys and video games, but it has also always been a store that my mom dragged me around in while comparing hand towels. I had to be talked into checking out the mens’ department at Target before I ever realized what it offered.

Trackbacks

  1. Clothes make the man. « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

