Skip to content

Suit up!

May 3, 2010

On Sunday, I finally embarked on that most dreaded of spring shopping trips … swimsuit shopping. I haven’t done this in quite awhile since, for a few consecutive summers, I didn’t really use the one I owned. (There aren’t many places to lay out in Manhattan.)

However, with my much-anticipated long weekend at the beach upon me, I finally sucked it up (and sucked it in) and went to Old Navy. Swimsuits can get pretty expensive, but in my opinion, there’s really no need to shell out $100 for such tiny pieces of fabric. As long as you stick to styles that suit you (pun intended, of course), you should be fine.

I’m sure we’ve all read the magazine articles talking about which type fits which shape best, but they often include pricey examples. You won’t find any of that here.

So, with that in mind, and in the interest of saving myself time, I’m keeping my examples to the aforementioned Old Navy and Target.

So, I really love the idea of a sexy one-piece, but I can’t wrap my mind around the tan lines that would occur with these. Maybe they’re best for pool or beach parties with a nice sarong. Just a thought…

It should go without saying that bustier ladies shouldn’t want to add bulk with ruffles, nor will the number on the right do them any favors.

Personally, I favor tops with a band on the bottom like the example in the middle. (I actually bought those first two styles.) If you’re extremely busty, sometimes a simple tankini top could be your best bet. (Also? I hate whoever invented the word “tankini.”)

The higher cut your bottom, the longer your legs will look.

Aaaand the lower on your hips the bottom sits, the longer your torso will look. Pretty self-explanatory.

I’m a big advocate of buying separates because most women aren’t going to be the same size in both the top and bottom. (I’m certainly not. There’s that pesky “junk in the trunk” again.) (Sorry, Mom.)

Seriously though, it’s very rare to find a woman who can wear a swimsuit, as is, if both pieces are sold together rather than separately. A flat-chested girl could have long legs and hate her stomach, while someone with a short torso could have wider hips and skinny legs. Separates, you guys.

I’m sure there are many, many more examples I could have discussed but these are the basics.

What are your best swimsuit-shopping tips? (Besides trying them on at home, in better lighting? Seriously, can’t they get rid of the halogens?)

But remember … no matter what style you go with and what size you are, rock it with confidence.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 7:48 pm

    I’ve been following the blog for a while, but this is my first comment.. Mostly because it’s something I’m passionate about. I agree that it’s ridiculous to shell out $100 for a bathing suit; however, I (roughly) shell out that much yearly for a good bathing suit. I’m a D-cup and have been since early high school. If I don’t shell out that much to get a bra lined suit, I can guarantee you I will fall out whether I’m laying out or trying to swim a few laps to cool down. Also, I laughed out loud at your “busty”comment for a tankini… Those triangles cover nipples! Seriously! I’m not trying to criticize or anything… but I’ve seen way too many girls running around in bathing suit tops that have too small triangles!

    • May 4, 2010 9:29 pm

      Thanks for commenting, Viktoria. You’re absolutely right. In retrospect, this post was much too rushed and I should have researched it a bit more. A more well-informed swimsuit post is on my to-do list. Thanks for calling me out, and for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

