Skip to content

Can call all you want but there’s no one home and you’re not gonna reach my telephone

May 11, 2010

I promise I’ll be back later this week with a substantial post, but I wanted to throw this out there and see what you guys think.

I was reading an article on Mashable last week that discussed a survey of 1,600 women who use cell phones. Sixty-seven percent are interested in receiving mobile coupons or vouchers, and 57 percent have actually clicked on a mobile advertisement.

I belong to an Atlanta-specific website called Scoutmob, which lets users send one coupon per day to their phone via text message. I know a lot of magazines put phone numbers next to featured items, and sending a text to that number can give you a website where that item can be reached. I think I’d rather use my laptop for electronic shopping because the screen is bigger, but I’m not sure how I feel about receiving coupons via text – especially since my e-mail goes to my phone regardless.

Would you be open to using your cell phone to shop? Do you already receive coupons from stores on your phone? (I’m not talking about e-mail that gets sent to your Blackberry or iPhone, I’m talking about mobile-specific vouchers.)

Just curious as to how mobile technology is changing how we shop…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:55 am

    I’m too poor to own a smart phone, so I get neither email nor coupons on my phone. I feel like I’d be annoyed shopping on my phone though. For now (until that wonderous day when I have a real job and a real paycheck), I’ll stick to my computer or real life shopping 🙂

  2. May 12, 2010 5:08 pm

    Thanks for visiting 🙂
    I’m not sure how I feel about coupon-texts. I also get everything sent to my email.

    What I would really like is to be able to show my emailed coupons to the cashier (or “scan” my phone) instead of printing offline. Printing off coupons is such a waste of paper– especially since they are simply shredded at the end of the business day.

  3. May 16, 2010 9:31 am

    Hmm… not sure how I feel about mobile coups. My first feeling is annoyed but then I try to think about it and… I just don’t think I would use it. BUT… I hate hate hate printing coupons off of my email or other sites so maybe it could be a good thing. Maybe even more organized if you streamlined the stores/types you received…

Leave a Reply

