Skip to content

Weekend Getaway: Asheville

May 20, 2010

It’s no secret that I love to travel. I’m grateful to have already visited a number of places during my life so far.

Since I don’t always have the luxury of traveling for a week or a month at a time, sometimes it’s nice just to get away for a three-day weekend.

Last weekend, my boyfriend and I had a little weekend getaway to Asheville, N.C. His major draw was all the local craft breweries. I think that’s cool, but I was more interested in the eco-friendly hippie-ness of the small city.

With general hippie-ness comes lots of cool little shops.

On Saturday, I dragged him around town to consignment, vintage and other cute boutiques. (Don’t fear, male readers, I did plenty of brewery hopping — and enjoyed it.)

We first stumbled upon The Enchanted Forrest while driving around town. It is a consignment boutique I learned about while searching for Asheville thrift stores ahead of time. It was a cute place, not overpriced, and from what I overheard, the lady who was working there would be singing with a band at the local tavern that night. Unfortunately, though, I didn’t find anything I couldn’t live without.

After returning to the downtown area, we strolled through the Grove Arcade and surrounding shops and street vendors. I really liked this area because it was kind of hidden on an alley behind a main street. (And it didn’t hurt that I had a delicious falafel pita and vegetable root chips at The Laughing Seed Café — a vegetarian restaurant directly above Jack of the Wood pub.) One shop we went into was sensory overload: incense, lots of hippie skirts and dresses, necklaces, earrings, scarves, knick-knacks.

I then went in nearly every shop with clothing, up and down Lexington Avenue. There were some really cool vintage shops. However, I’ve learned that anything categorized as “vintage” is going to be expensive. “Thrift” means cheap. At one shop I listened as the owner bargained with a man over some cowboy boots. It consisted of him pointing out flaws in the boots; the woman saying, “I see what you’re saying, how about $X?”

I’ve never been one for price negotiating, but I can see how it can be beneficial. If the business model is built on this concept, I guess we can assume they build in some fluff into the listed price.

Finally I entered a spacious boutique full of natural light: Virtue. As soon as I walked in the door, I spotted a dress I couldn’t leave without.

So I didn’t. Of course I tried on three different sizes of the same dress before I found the right one.

I’m proud of the amount of ground I covered in this small city. It was great to have a little weekend getaway and explore some unfamiliar territory.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 10:31 am

    I would feel so awkward bargaining. I just don’t know if I have it in me.

    …Can I borrow the dress at some point in the (near) future?? It’s so pretty!!!

    Also, I have a pile of clothes to give to Plato’s Closet and/or Goodwill. Let me know if you want to look through it first.

  2. May 28, 2010 9:18 am

    If only more than 32 people would hear about this.

Trackbacks

  1. These are a few of my favorite things… « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

