Skip to content

Well, you look dressed up

May 21, 2010

So I’m a girl (newsflash, right?) and I like to wear dresses. Now. when I talk about dresses, there are a wide range of available options. My closet is packed full of work-appropriate frocks (mostly basics), as well as items I can wear to the multitude of weddings I am attending this summer. But my favorite type of dresses out of all of the ones I own are the casual, throw-on dresses.

It’s summer (well, almost). Given the chance, I will throw on dress instead of a pair of short of capris. Dresses are more comfortable to me than most other options in my wardrobe.

However, the word “dress” carries a certain connotation with some people. If I walk out of my apartment to meet the boyfriend with any sort of skirt-like item on, he’s like “I didn’t know we were going for the dressed up look.” I sigh, and tell him that the 10 dollar Forever 21 dress I have on is nowhere near dressy. While home in Atlanta last month, I wore a crazy casual cotton dress (more of a swim cover up actually, whatev) out to lunch with my parents. My mom asked me why I looked so fancy. Seriously? It’s not like I’m walking around in a pageant gown.

I don’t really cater to what other people think when it comes to fashion. I wear what I want and, unless someone tells me I look like crap, I’m probably going to brush off comments from other people. That being said, I was perusing Etsy awhile back and stumbled on to their vintage/thrift section. I had to control myself from spending 100 bucks, but I picked up three casual dresses which I am excited to wear this summer. I think total, with shipping, they cost 30 bucks. Can’t beat that.

I hate to say it, but the crazy colorful on in the middle is my favorite. I don’t even know why I was so attracted to it on the site. It’s from the 80s (could you tell?) but it is so light and comfy — I’m in love. The one on the left I’m actually wearing to a casual wedding tomorrow (the invitation actually called for jeans, but I wear a dress any chance I can get). It looks super cute with a skinny gold belt and gold sandals. I’m contemplating wearing the one on the right with a jean blazer and my recently acquired cowboy boots, but I don’t know if that might be a little too Annie Oakley. Thoughts?

One rule for shopping on Etsy — make sure you measure yourself and compare to the measurements listed. Thankfully, all these dresses fit me, but sometimes the pictures can make it seem like it fits, but it won’t in person.

What are some of your favorite summer dresses?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 4:27 pm

    I used to get the whole “why are you so dressed up?” until everyone in my life realized that I just wear dresses all the damn time. They’re just so easy and comfortable and figure-flattering!

    I LOVE the dresses you picked out, especially that middle one. It’s got a great silhouette, and ’80s-type patterns are definitely back. From the looks of it, it could stand to be hemmed a bit, but obviously I haven’t seen it on you, so I can’t say for sure.

    And I think the cowboy boots could work with the dress on the right. A denim blazer would class it up a bit, but I think a full-on denim jacket might be a bit much. Just a few thoughts…

    • Katy permalink*
      May 21, 2010 5:36 pm

      Yea, the middle one hits me just below my knee right now and I think I’m going to attempt to take it up this weekend.

Leave a Reply

