Skip to content

Quick tip: Blot the heat away … kinda

June 1, 2010

I don’t know about y’all, but where I live (D.C.) it jumped from two feet of snow on the ground to 90 in what feels like a week. Where the heck did spring go? So we just need to face it: We are going to get a case of shiny face. You all know what I am talking about. Whether you use mineral makeup, tinted moisturizer, or go barefaced, after walking outside in the heat and humidity, you have a glowy skin — and not in the Kim Kardashian way.

There are all sort of blotting papers and powders out there, but I have read (and subsequently fell in love with) about an inexpensive, basically free, alternative.

Yes, those are Starbucks napkins. All you really is something to lightly blot the oil off your face without disturbing any make up you might have on. I have found that napkins from Starbucks (and Chipotle for that matter) work best because they are made with recycled products. Now, I’m not sure if that is really the reason, but in my extensive research (i.e. Dunkin napkins v. office bathroom paper towels, etc) these puppies take the cake. I find myself grabbing a few extra ones whenever I pick up a latte and stashing them in my purse or at my desk at work. Plus, it’s always nice to have a functioning napkin around just in case.

So beat the heat this summer by keeping the shine at bay. What are some of your tips to keep looking good this summer?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink*
    June 22, 2010 12:17 pm

    WHAT HOW DID I MISS THIS. I hate spending $6+ on those Clean and Clear oil-absorbing sheets, and I have tons of Starbucks and Chipotle napkins in my office desk drawer! I’m totally trying this ASAP.

    I don’t really have any tips to looking good over the summer while living in the city. The subway heat owns me and no matter what I do, I am inevitably a hot mess walking into the office. Maybe I’ll buy a mini-fan for my desk?

Leave a Reply

