Skip to content

White Hot American Summer

June 9, 2010
White dressesFashion Trends & Styles - Polyvore

For the past few summers, I’ve seen white dresses come in and out of style. Unfortunately, I think white is a difficult color for many to pull off — it really does emphasize every curve, and I think the color looks best against tanned skin. (I definitely don’t support skin cancer, but there are more than a few good self-tanners on the market.)

It’s also difficult to find a white dress that doesn’t invoke images of a bride, a prom queen or an 8-year-old making her first Communion. (Yup, I donned a frilly white dress for mine 14 years ago.) And then there’s the added complication of general klutziness. White attire tends to attract all sorts of spills — at least, in my case it does. However, a few obvious tips for not spilling on your white clothing: always carry a Tide To-Go Pen (they truly do work miracles) and avoid red wine.

I scanned Polyvore in search of summery white dresses that didn’t scream “beauty pageant” or “bride,” and, the pickings seemed to be pretty slim, especially if you want to stay within a certain budget. (Mine was under $100, of course.) I love the one-shouldered look for a cocktail party or wedding, and the folk-y look of the dress on the top right makes me think of relaxed summer barbecues with friends and neighbors. And as for the dress second-from-the-left on the top row? Perfect for the office.

Are you embracing the white trend of this summer or are you finding it difficult to wear a white dress without hyperventilating at the thought of actually getting married someday? (Just me? OK.)

Embroidered Strappy Lace Dress, $80
Grecian Chiffon Dress, $90
Cream One Shoulder Ruffle Contour Dress – Dresses -…, 22 GBP
Dresses – Womens Clothing – French Connection, 65 GBP
Gap Mixed Stripe Tie Belt Linen Mix Dress, $76
People Tree | People Tree Embroidered Folklore Dress at ASOS, 58 GBP
Forever21.com – New Arrivals – 2000002085, $25
H&M The Garden (Part 2) | Stylistic
(Apologies for the pricing in Great Britain Pounds. I thought that French Connection Dress was too lovely not to include, and they’re certainly available in the U.S. as well.)
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    June 9, 2010 1:50 pm

    I have this white capsleeve dress that I got for 5 pounds when I was in England, which was four years ago now. I absolutely love it. I did get a stain on it once or twice, but Tide-to-Go is so money (got out red wine, win). It’s just a simple dress with a tie-around sash that I greatly enjoy for how it looks, and the memories associated with it. That being said, I am also about as pale as the background of this blog, so I hope it don’t look like a ghost when I wear it.

    • June 9, 2010 3:35 pm

      I don’t think you HAVE to be tan to wear white, I’ve just personally always thought white looks better on me when I have a bit of a tan. And yes, Tide To-Go pens are seriously amazing … I wish I had invented them. Normally for red wine stains I rely on club soda or bleach, so good to know the Tide pen worked for that. I’m not exactly graceful, especially when drinking wine.

  2. June 24, 2010 1:11 pm

    I’m on the lookout for a white dress. Hard to do, i’m picky with style and with price!
    At the moment, I’m content with white skirts, til I find THE ONE.

    🙂

    • June 25, 2010 9:25 am

      You’re so right – it’s extremely difficult to find a white dress that’s just the right style. I have a few white skirts that I like to wear quite often, particularly in the summer. Plus, there’s less white space on which I can spill. 🙂

  3. hugsandmisses permalink
    June 24, 2010 6:37 pm

    I’d love to find a white dress that actually looks descent on me. I am dreadfully pale (which, actually, I don’t mind) so I feel the same way that you do.

    • June 25, 2010 9:43 am

      I bet an ivory-colored dress would look nice on paler skin. You’re smart to protect your skin — I don’t visit tanning beds but do still crave a tan in the summer, partially due to my dark hair. Try a beige or cream dress with darker undertones, and I bet your paler skin will look amazing!

Leave a Reply

