Skip to content

Baby clothing fever

June 10, 2010

Disclaimer: I am NOT preggers.

Now that that’s out of the way, BABY CLOTHES ARE SO ADORABLE.

I no longer work at the Gap. I quit due to low hourly pay and sheer impatience to fold shirts for 8 and a half hours. It was stable, offered an amazing discount and the hours were good, but I’d much rather have a job where I can manipulate how much money I make per hour, a la waitressing. (Also, the Gap had some absurd rules, like, you couldn’t have a water bottle with you on the floor, even if you felt sick. But that’s a post for another blog.) Anyway, I worked in the women’s department a handful of times, but I was mostly placed in the Baby Gap department. Over the course of the few months I worked there, I became kind of obsessed with baby clothes. I also noticed that children these days are much more involved with what they’re wearing than kids from my generation. Surely there are exceptions, and the parents’ income makes a difference, but I’ll go out on a limb and say that kids these days are much more fashion-conscious than the 1986-’87-borne crowd. 

I, for one, had no input in what I was wearing as a toddler on a day to day basis. I also didn’t really care.

Kids these days seem to care. I’ve seen actual temper tantrums thrown by three-year-old girls (and boys!) who are dead-set on buying a certain shirt or pair of shorts. “But I don’t LIKE those pants!” And the parents, nine times out of 10, totally give in. Children are much more in charge of their wardrobes, and at an early age decide what styles, colors and patterns are best for them.

I’m kind of torn on how I feel about it. I think part of the agony of growing up is being forced to wear horrible clothes, like an ABC red jumper with a pencil on it. I didn’t start to care about what I was actually wearing until 5th grade, when Limited Too became the next big thing and I decided everything I owned had to be covered in glitter. But on the other hand, maybe letting kids decide what they like and don’t like style-wise at an early age will weed out the carbon-copy Abercrombie trends in middle school.

Anyway, I know most of the girls reading this do not have children and are not planning on it any time soon. But if you have a baby sister, niece, or girl you babysit for, just look at these and tell me they’re not adorable:

Metallic striped bubble romper, Hampton's collection, $23

Floppy eyelet hat, Hampton's collection, $15

Eyelet espadrilles, Hampton's collection, $15

Pink floral romper, $14.99

Jellies, $9

Summer shorts, $8-$17

ADORBS. You’ll notice that I chose not to include boys’ clothing because well, girls’ clothing is just way cuter.

What do you guys think? Should toddlers be in charge of their wardrobes?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 11:01 am

    I was totally into my wardrobe as a small child. (I know you’re all shocked.) I had a few dresses that I wore all the time and refused to take off. I’m not sure when these phases started – my mom can probably confirm – but I do remember being pretty involved in what I wore. However, the period between 4th grade to 7th grade was a pretty unfortunate time for me. I try to forget those days.

  2. June 11, 2010 3:11 am

    When i was a child my mom says i like to wear my favourite dresses again and again. I loved to wear different types of dresses.

Leave a Reply

