Skip to content

Those lazy hazy crazy days of summer

June 14, 2010

Apparently it’s summer. I’m not really sure how that happened, but I woke up the other day and suddenly realized it was June. Weather.com confirmed the season — highs of 95 have officially hit Atlanta. I’m taking advantage of my air-conditioned car and apartment while I can, because I sure won’t be experiencing that luxury come July 7, when I finally cross the Mason-Dixon line for good and move to New York. (Be on the lookout for a post about editing my wardrobe, moving and dressing for new weather.)

So, what’s a girl to do when it’s 90 degrees and humid?

Aside from wearing sunscreen each and every day (I hope I don’t need to inform you of that necessity), wear a hat. I’ve noticed more styles (fedoras and cowgirl hats, particularly) being featured in various magazines, and I think they make a great addition to any summery outfit. I’m thinking, floral sundress, flat gladiator sandals, panama hat. Yes.

No longer reserved for spectators at the Kentucky Derby, I’m getting the feeling that hats are making a comeback lately. I wore my own wide-brimmed black straw hat at the beach last month while nursing a sunburn, and I also own a black straw fedora. (Confession: I’ve only worn the fedora once since purchasing it. I need to start donning it more on the weekends.)

Summer HatsFashion Trends & Styles - Polyvore

One thing to keep in mind for summer hats: stick to straw, or an equally lightweight fabric. Sure, wool fedoras are cute, but not when it’s 95 degrees outside. Hats are really useful for providing some polish to a casual summer outfit, as well as keeping the sun off your face.

Another summer accessory staple? Sunglasses. I was reading the June Lucky Magazine the other day and saw houseofsunglasses.com recommended. The site sells vintage and vintage-inspired sunglasses and literally every. single. pair is $9.99. I couldn’t help but snag a pair of these “Lolita”-inspired heart-shaped frames. I think the hearts are just the right size — not too big and not too small. (Goldilocks would approve.)

What are some of your favorite summer accessories?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    June 17, 2010 3:05 pm

    I bought a fedora…and I blame Shannon entirely. My boyfriend loves it, but my roommate says she doesn’t want to be seen in public with me if I have it on. Whatev. I like it.

    • June 17, 2010 3:07 pm

      I take credit for a lot of people’s impulse or wacky purchases. My roommate recently bought two or three pairs of shoes from Target, which is totally unlike her. Muhahaha.

Leave a Reply

