Skip to content

I’ve always wanted a personal shopper…

June 21, 2010

It’s no secret there are amazing deals to be had on the Internet. Yes, sometimes it can be tricky to buy clothes or shoes online (clearly, I’ve never had an issue buying shoes online), but many retailers have more-than-generous return and exchange policies, which is definitely helpful.

However, with the myriad of online retailers out there, it can be exhausting to keep track of all the deals out there. Plus, weeding through the brands and styles you don’t care about can be extremely time-consuming.

Yesterday, though, I got an invitation from Melanie to join Shop It To Me, a personal shopping website. Basically, when you fill out your profile, you check all the brands you like, your clothing sizes and what type of clothing you like.

Then, Shop It To Me will e-mail you a customized “salemail” every day or week. (You can specify how often you want to receive e-mails.) “Salemails” compile sales and online discounts from retailers all across the Web.

Of course I was gchatting with Jenny. And for the record, I would never buy a jumpsuit.

From what I can tell so far, Shop It To Me offers tons of brands, and a lot of them are pretty high-end, yes. However, stores such as Old Navy, Ann Taylor Loft, Forever 21, Nine West and Gap are included. I definitely selected some higher-end brands just to see what kind of discounts showed up, and a lot of them featured substantial savings, which could come in handy if I need an outfit for a special occasion.

I foresee Shop It To Me saving me tons of time (and, obviously, money) in my online shopping endeavors. It’s basically a personal-stylist-meets-technology, which combines two of my favorite things! (Also, the service is free, which is always a win.)

What do you think? Is technology positively or negatively affecting fashion and bargain-hunting? Do you still prefer “the thrill of the hunt” in stores and online?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink*
    June 21, 2010 3:02 pm

    I think technology has had a huge impact on bargain-hunting. Nearly everything is at our fingertips.

    My only concerns center around the hassle with buying something only to find it doesn’t fit correctly and having to return the item.

    And sometimes, depending on my mood, I really do prefer the hunt – there’s nothing like rummaging through racks of clothes until you eventually find a jewel at an insanely low price.

    • June 21, 2010 5:31 pm

      There’s definitely nothing like the feeling you get from a successful thrifting trip, and of course, buying pre-worn clothing is very economical and “green.” But sometimes I think convenience can trump all, and when it comes to finding nicer pieces for lower costs, technology can definitely come in handy.

    • Jenny permalink*
      June 22, 2010 12:11 pm

      “My only concerns center around the hassle with buying something only to find it doesn’t fit correctly and having to return the item.”

      Same here.

      But I think Shop It To Me is great for that special occasion in the future, like Shannon said — I’m definitely never going to be able to afford buying an impromptu dress at Saks. I signed up for a weekly e-mail because I don’t need any shopping temptation right now. 🙂

  2. Laura permalink
    June 21, 2010 8:46 pm

    Completely unrelated to your post, but I totally thought of you and your blog this morning when I donned my scrubs. Not only do I not have to fret over the eternal “what do I wear?” conundrum, but my designated uniform is essentially PJs (and free from the hospital)! Dare I call it a “fashion” win?

  3. June 22, 2010 9:56 am

    I got an invitation for Shop it to Me, but I chose not to sign up because I thought it would tempt me to buy waaaay too much stuff. Have either of you had that problem?

    • June 22, 2010 10:06 am

      Well, in the interest of full disclosure, I just signed up a few days ago and haven’t bought anything yet. I have considered it, though. I’ve been scanning the salemails and a few items have jumped out at me, but I haven’t been able to justify spending the money, especially w/ the move.

      I don’t really think it’s any different than signing up for e-mail updates from individual stores. (I get e-mails from the Gap and Victoria’s Secret, among others.) It’s just compiling more retailers into one e-mail, which makes things a bit more convenient.

      I plan on writing a post about editing my wardrobe for the move and how I need to get more focused with what I buy. I think Shop It To Me has the potential to help me out with that a bit.

Trackbacks

  1. Trendy Thrifty Threads « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

