Skip to content

Quick tip: Designer lotions … the thrifty way

June 25, 2010

I’ve been having Thrifty Threads writer’s block as of late, and I’m not entirely sure why. I’m out of grad school for the summer and the most trying thing I do everyday is trying to figure out what to wear to work (I think I have nothing to wear while my closet is actually jam packed, so it takes a lot of thinking). I figured I’d brainstorm up another quick tip because it doesn’t kill too many brain cells.

I went through a perfume stage a few months back and now find myself with bottles that are nearing the end of their lives. Yea, the logical thing to is to just spritz it on, but I find that I wear less perfume during the summer. So I was reading around and stumbled upon this not-so-groundbreaking of an idea.

When you go to a department store and purchase the latest perfume, it generally comes in a set with an accompanying lotion or body butter. However, if you find yourself wanting a matching lotion outside of a set, it can cost a pretty penny. Well, here is a thrifty alternative.

It is as simple as mixing a few drops of your favorite perfume with unscented lotion and boom — designer lotion. Pop it in a cute container (or in my case, random Gladware) and use it over and over again. I find scented lotions to be a better option in summer because it gives off a lighter scent and also helps keep your skin more moisturized through all the ridiculous heat. Especially if you are fake tanning (or real tanning, which is bad, but people still do it), having hydrated skin is key to keep your skin looking bronzed and beautiful.

The best part of this whole thing is that you can buy a huge thing of unscented lotion (i.e. Suave) for 3 or 4 bucks at most drugstores. If you bought a fragrance lotion in that same size, you might drop around 50 to 60 bucks. My personal favorites are Michael Kors Very Hollywood and Stella Nude for summer. Experiment with different scents with just one bottle of lotion, even try mixing two perfumes together for a unique blend. An even better idea is finding a lotion with SPF (a la Aveeno) so you can avoid that typical sunscreen smell.

So that is all. Nothing to crazy. Just a quick idea for multitasking with products you may already have … one of my personal favorite things to do.

What are some of your favorite summer lotions and scents?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 6:32 am

    The accednit of finding this post has brightened my day

Leave a Reply

