Skip to content

Attention Men: It’s Time To Salute Your Shorts

June 29, 2010

With all the feedback from last week’s post about shorts (Thanks, by the way!), several men voiced their disappointment I only wrote about shorts for women. Therefore, today’s focus is on men’s shorts.

Although men tend to have fewer options, there are plenty of different styles for different occasions.

These are a popular lounging option for men. They are casual, seem to be comfortable, hold lots of belongings, and I think they look nice with flip-flops for weekend wear. (Not the camo, but that’s just because I’m not a fan of the pattern — to each his/her own.)

I know some men who live in these. While that’s fine, men, please mix it up and dress for the occasion.

These are a more sophisticated choice and lighter for the summer heat. They don’t have as much pocket storage, but at least all that extra fabric won’t weigh them down. These are the type of shorts that look best with a tucked in (or at least not too long) shirt and belt. And depending on the look you’re going for, nearly any shoe can work.

First, I know all men aren’t golfers, but golf shorts open up a whole new fashion category. They can range from tame to way crazy (see right).

To be honest, I didn’t know golf shorts were any different until my boyfriend informed me they’re actually slightly different. They use different material and are made to wick away moisture and keep the golfer cool.

Golf clothing encourages some interesting patterns which is an opportunity for men to experiment. Bright colors are accepted, but please don’t try to wear them all at once!

Even if you’re not hitting the green, the tamer varieties have a classy appearance and pleats are always in style.

I LOVE plaid shorts. I think they’re such a cool way to add color and interest. Obviously they can’t be worn every day, but they’re just so fun. Now, what to wear with them? Solid color Tees or Polo-style shirts are usually a safe bet. Shoes can be anything from sneakers to boat shoes to flip-flops.

I won’t bother wring about jorts (jean shorts) here since I covered those last week.

The most important thing to keep in mind is that men can be fashionable and comfortable. Shorts are no substitute for pants for formal occasions, but during the summer a nice pair of linen or pleated shorts are perfectly acceptable for a nice dinner.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristen permalink*
    June 29, 2010 11:33 am

    I personally dislike cargo shorts and pleats on men, because both add size that just isn’t necessary, but nothing ranks lower than a jort. PFGs are pretty low on the totem pole too, though, as they tend to fall a lot higher on the leg than in that photo (fratdogs!).

    • Melanie permalink*
      June 29, 2010 8:48 pm

      I’m not a big fan of cargo shorts, but I think pleats are nice for a dressed up look.

  2. June 29, 2010 11:38 am

    My personal favorites on men are plaid and linen. So classy.

  3. Katy permalink*
    June 29, 2010 3:21 pm

    I have had to have repeated convos with my boyfriend about how jean shorts are totally unacceptable. It frightens me that I have to do it over and over again. I personally love a good plaid short on a guy, but Eric would never do it.

    • June 29, 2010 4:42 pm

      Um, Katy. This is extremely concerning. (However, my dad still wears jorts. But he’s 51 and from the Midwest, so there’s not really anything I can do about that.)

  4. omgitsjpax permalink*
    July 2, 2010 12:29 pm

    Best post subject line ever.

Leave a Reply

