Skip to content

Make A Splash By The Pool

July 1, 2010

Nothing says 4th of July like a poolside cookout. Every year my boyfriend’s family hosts one following Atlanta’s AJC Peachtree Road Race, and it’s a blast!

Since we’re in and out of the pool, we spend most of the day in swimsuits. However, when it comes time to chow down, I prefer to be covered up.

Swimsuit cover-ups can be anything from shorts and a tank top to a sundress. Most stores also have designated cover-ups, many of which use thinner fabric or feel like a towel.

My favorite is a simple dress I can throw over my swimsuit. I usually use this opportunity to wear dresses that are too short or maybe too low-cut to wear for normal occasions, but they’re perfect with a swimsuit underneath.

I used to always wear a strapless dress from Kohl’s that was actually intended as a cover-up. But before my recent beach trip, I found a plain blue cotton dress for $15 at Target that works perfectly.

Do you bother with a cover-up? How do you feel most confident?

1) Reef Belize Me Sylvia – swimspot.com – $47
2) Badgley Mischka Chiffon – spiegel.com – $215
3) Speedo Tie Front Dress – zappos.com – $40
4) Sequined Kaftan Swimsuit Cover-Up – spiegel.com – $39
5) Tropical-Print Swimsuit Cover-Up Pareo – spiegel.com – $34

Each of these items is more than I would spend on a cover-up (which is $15 max), but more affordable options can be found at stores such as Old Navy, Target, TJMaxx, Ross, etc.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    July 1, 2010 4:56 pm

    I have this pretty inappropriate in length jean skirt that I bought in college that I tend to wear over my bathing suit. For some reason, I don’t mind by bathing suit bottoms hanging out, while I would mind my underwear hanging out. I am heading to the beach this weekend for the 4th and will probably be rocking that. When I go to the pool at my apartment, I’m pretty lame and just wrap my towel around me to walk down the two flights of stairs it takes me to get there. I really want a super cute cover up (there is one that an actress wore on Modern Family that I am in love with) but I can’t justify spending the money on it when I have items that are perfectly fine alternatives.

  2. July 2, 2010 10:48 am

    I loooove the cover-up I got from Old Navy in March 2009 before our last spring break. We should try to grab a picture of it this weekend at the BBQ. Pretty sure it was like $15. I would never spend more than $25 on a cover-up unless it could also mix me a Bloody Mary. Ridic.

Leave a Reply

